Posted in Discussion

Discussion: Beautiful Book Covers

Hello!

One of the challenges for this year’s Booktube-a-thon is “Read a book you bought because of the cover”. I never cover-buy books; I’ll always read the description or some reviews first. So this challenge was a pretty difficult one for me. The good part of this is that it got me thinking about some of my favorite book covers, and I wanted to share a few with you all today!

all_the_light_we_cannot_see_28doerr_novel29                   51xuq-fwml-_sy344_bo1204203200_                  17415685-_uy200_

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – this book is as beautiful on the inside as it is on the outside. I love the blue and the turquoise colors blending together to depict the war-time city scape.

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton – I have to say this picture doesn’t really do the book justice. The cover in real life is metallic, and made of a stationery-type paper that’s got almost like a fabric texture to it, with little threads weaving together in a cross-hatch. When I first read this book, I borrowed it from a friend, but I knew I had to buy my own copy because of the gorgeous cover.

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo – Are we noticing a pattern here? I like blue ok? It’s my favorite color. I love all the covers in this trilogy, because there’s little easter-eggs hidden if you pay attention. And each little detail is relevant to the story.

20983366-_uy400_ss400_         61znaba02bdl-_sx335_bo1204203200_              28960100

Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken –  It was really hard for me to choose between this one and passenger, but I ended up going with this one, just because I love the idea of a tree growing under a glass dome like that. A whole little world inside, with the cityscape mirrored below.

The Marvels by Brian Selznick – Again, the picture doesn’t entirely do justice for this cover. The gold is beautiful and metallic, like it was gold-leafed. The indigo behind provides such a gorgeous contrast; it’s the perfect cover for one of my favorite books.

A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray: This whole series has some of the most amazing covers I’ve ever seen. This one has to be my favorite though. Space isn’t the most interesting visually, but I loved how they made it this rich, royal purple, rather just black or gray and boring. Plus, the stark scarlet against the purple is just stunning.

 

What are some of your favorite book covers? Have you read any of the books I mentioned? Tell me in the comments!

-Sky

 

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, majoring in comparative literature. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 7 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - Sky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

