Hogwarts House Recommendations #1: GRYFFINDOR!

Hello!

I’ve been wanting to do a series of recommendations based off the Hogwarts houses for a while now, and I’m finally ready to start! Since I am a Gryffindor, I thought it only fitting that I start with giving some recommendations to fellow Gryffindors. Of course, you don’t have to be a Gryffindor to love these books, but I think you might especially love them if you are a Gryffindor. According to Harry Potter Wiki, “The Gryffindor house emphasises the traits of courage as well as “daring, nerve, and chivalry,” and thus its members are generally regarded as brave, though sometimes to the point of recklessness. They can also be short-tempered.” Here are five books that either embody these traits, or have characters who I strongly relate to Gryffindor, and that I think all Gryffindors will love (or at least thoroughly enjoy). ūüôā

29283884

A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue¬†by Mackenzie Lee

Henry Montague (Monty), our main character in this book, is undoubtedly a Gryffindor in my mind. He is rebellious, challenges authority, and defies the social conventions that surround him. On top of it all, much of this book deals with some pretty heavy topics, mostly revolving on Monty becoming brave enough to face his demons, both interior and exterior.

51a99tea6il-_ac_ul320_sr204320_

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Here we have another book where the characters embody the traits of a true Gryffindor. All of our main characters – Liesel, Mama, Papa, Max, and Rudy, all show the bravery, courage, and daring that I associate with Gryffindors. The way these characters are brave enough to defy the Nazi government, standing up for what they believe in, even if it’s just in small, subtle ways, earns this book a spot on this list. Plus, I’m a Gryffindor, and this may be my favorite book of all time.

everything2c_everything

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

This one is a bit more abstract. I associate this book with Gryffindor not as much because of the characters (who I actually feel align more with Hufflepuff), but rather with the overall message of the book itself. This book is about taking chances and risks; it’s about going for what you want no matter what. It’s about never letting anything get in the way of your happiness, and to always be brave enough to chase your dreams.

32075671

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Again, this one is more about the overall message of the book. However, I also feel like our main character, Starr, is a Gryffindor as well. She’s brave, strong, and proud. Despite everything the world has thrown at her, she isn’t afraid to stand up for what she believes in. She’s not afraid to fight for what’s right, even when it seems like the whole world is working against her.

25014114

History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

Ok, so this is a bit of a bonus one, because I have it on here for a different reason than all the other books. Our two main characters (who are boyfriends) are named Griffin, and Theodore. So, their ship name? You got it. It’s Griffin-dore. Of course I had to put is on this list. On top of that, I think Griffin is pretty brave. Throughout the book he must face the reality of Theo’s death, and you have to be pretty brave to do that, especially when you’re mostly on your own.

 

Do you agree with my choices? What books do you associate with Gryffindor? Tell me in the comments!

-Sky

Leave a Reply

