Discussion: Disappointing Finales

Hello!

So, I’m sure we’ve all read series that made us fall in love with them, only to completely disappoint us by the last book. There are a bunch that I’ve read over the past few years, but the most recent one for me is definitely The Chronicles of Narnia.

The first few books in the series are so magical and innocent. As a child I completely fell in love with the world of Narnia, especially since I read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe before I read Harry Potter. I was so envious of the Pevensies, and their magical land where they could be kings and queens.

giphy

Then, the last two books happened. There was such a huge shift in the tone and the message of the books, and it was impossible to ignore the incredibly racist and sexist undertones running through the narrative. I was so confused. Where did all my innocent babies go?

tumblr_nupezzvhwc1uv300do1_500

I think the only way I can cope is to pretend the last two books don’t exist. I’ll stick with The Lion, the Witch, and The Wardrobe and Prince Caspian, thanks. You can’t make me face reality, nope! Narnia is fine, and you can’t convince me otherwise. I’ll just go hide in my wonderful little fantasy world, now. Bye!

doctor-who-brb-narnia

What do you do when a series disappoints you? Have you read all of The Chronicles of Narnia? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!

-Sky

 

One thought on “Discussion: Disappointing Finales

  1. I was actually going to do a pretty similar discussion at some point! Not about Narnia, but about series finales in general. I think you’ve convinced me to not keep reading the Narnia books – I’ve read two, and I think that’s enough.

Leave a Reply

