Posted in General Information

May Wrap-Up/June TBR

Hello!

Who thinks it’s still March? ME! This year is just flying by, and I really don’t know where the time has gone. I had a decent reading month in May, I managed to read a total of 8 books. I’m not sure how much I’m going to be able to read in June, as I’m actually taking 4 summer classes at my local community college in order to make up for the semester I missed. So, who knows? Regardless, I have a bunch of really exciting books that I want to read this month. But, before we get to that, here are the books I read in May!

51v-zo8sxkl-_sx331_bo1204203200_                   2728527                  32075671

The Bell Jar by Silvia Plath: ★★★ I was really excited to read this book, as it’s a classic that I’ve heard really good things about. Many people whom I’ve spoken with have loved this book, and really appreciated its depiction of mental illness. I liked this book, it was ok, but I really didn’t like the writing style. I felt like it was pretty similar to the writing in The Catcher in the Rye, and I HATED that book. So, even though I can appreciate this book, it just wasn’t enjoyable for me.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows: ★★★★ This book was so sweet, and funny. I loved all of the characters, and the dry, witty humor that is characteristic of Britain was beautiful. All I want to do now is go live on an island like Guernsey. It sounds so quaint and wonderful.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas: ★★★★★ I’m sure this book needs no additional hype, as it’s been incredibly popular recently, but I’m going to give it anyway. This book is absolutely amazing, and it’s so important. I really hope this is required reading someday, because everyone needs to read this.

7740048-_uy200_                   519by0nhlml-_sx331_bo1204203200_                  51t0npdw14l-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Wildthorn by Jane Eagland: ★★★★ This book was recommended to me by Clara (as usual), and I finally got around to reading it. I really enjoyed it, though I didn’t get quite as attached to the characters as I was expecting to.

Strange the Deamer by Laini Taylor: ★★★ I wasn’t sure what to expect going into this book, but I had no idea it was going to be this. I really liked the characters, but for the first 300 pages of the book there seemed to be absolutely no plot. Also, the main relationship seemed super insta-lovey and just meh.

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie: ★★★★★ This is the first nonfiction feminist book I’ve read, and it did not disappoint. Adichie has a way of putting everything I believe about feminism into incredibly elegant and somehow also funny, witty, and relatable words. Definitely going to read more by her in the future.

31145148                                                                               41gf7lynoal-_sx321_bo1204203200_

The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich: ★★★★ I liked this book a lot, but there were a few issues with it. If you want to read my review of this book, you can find it here.

Pure Drivel by Steve Martin: ★★★ My mom and I were looking for a quick, short book to listen to on our drive to/from work. It was relatively funny, but the second half in particular was just UTTER nonsense. It got so ridiculous that I couldn’t really even tell what was going on anymore, and it just wasn’t all that enjoyable.

clip-art-dividers-clipart-library-page-divider-clipart-3300_471

And now, my June TBR! 

13638125                     81ne3kifajl                   51eihszmmkl-_sx326_bo1204203200_

27211901                     28818313                   41ge72bydiyl

30653853

What books did you read in May? What books are you planning on reading in June? Let me know in the comments!

-Sky

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

