Top Ten Tuesday: Best Summer Reads

Hello!

I exist. I swear. I do. I’m still here… Occasionally. It’s almost the end of May already, and I have no idea where the year has gone. It still feels like it’s March, honestly. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature at The Broke and the Bookish, this week’s theme is “Summer Reads Freebie”, and I decided to list my favorite books that I think should be read during the summer. Here’s what I came up with –

2728527                    51waazcd2ul-_sy344_bo1204203200_             everything2c_everything

The Guernsey Literary Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows: I actually just finished this book about a week ago, and I’m so glad I read it when I did. It’s the perfect summer read – complete with an island getaway, fantastic characters, and a witty, sassy author narration. Definitely a book to take to the beach.

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh: This is another book that is perfect for summer because it’s light, funny, and totally relatable. I think this book would be great to read right at the beginning of summer, or just before it starts (it would make a GREAT hour-ish break from finals stress).

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon: I think this book would make a good summer read because of some spoilery things that I won’t get into. Overall, I think the ambiance of this book is pretty light and fun, and feels pretty summer-y. Since our main character can’t go outside, there’s a lot of focus on the beautiful aspects of life outdoors, which is perfect for the hot summer weather.

51yd0qrsr6l-_sx328_bo1204203200_                  the_selection               51mcvqjlupl-_sx328_bo1204203200_

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli: To be fair, I don’t think there’s ever a bad time to read this book. Summer in particular though seems like a great time to read super light and fluffy contemporaries, and this is exactly that. I’d love to take this book to the beach, curl up on a towel, and read this while eating a case of Oreos.

The Selection by Kiera Cass: The Selection series isn’t the best dystopian series out there, but it is one of the most fabulously dramatic series out there. This is the perfect series to read when you want something that you’re going to get totally invested in and fly through. It isn’t super deep or profound, but, like The Bachelor, you’ll get totally sucked into the drama and escape the summer heat while diving in to some hot (get it, it’s a pun… ignore me I’m a nerd) romance.

The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith: Everything about this book reminds me of summer. I don’t remember much about it, since I read it a couple of years ago, but what I remember of it my mind has completely associated with summer. Blackout in New York, buying ice cream, and again a light and fluffy contemporary.

16143347              willgrayson            a1yu0eqcc1l-_ac_ul320_sr232320_            17623975

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart: This book is not a light and fluffy contemporary. However, it takes place on an island where our main character’s family vacations every summer. Hence, there are some very beachy and summery vibes going on throughout the story, interlaced with a much darker and mysterious plot.

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan: It’s been a few years since I’ve read this book, so I don’t remember much of it. What I do remember of it is that it made me laugh, and overall was a really fun book. I think the funny and quirky characters combined with the slightly ridiculous plot makes it a fun summer read that you can get through quickly without having to devote too much energy to it.

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett: What could be more summery than a beautiful garden? I love this book because it’s a children’s classic, so it has all the beautiful ambiance of historical novels and classics, without the difficult language. A great book to read on a gorgeous summer day in your garden among the flowers.

Just One Day by Gayle Foreman: This book is about a girl who goes on a trip to Europe, and gets sidetracked by a boy. It’s pretty light and fluffy, and on top of that has the wonderful setting of different European countries. I love the idea of reading this during the summer and feeling like you’re going on vacation, or even reading it while on vacation.

What books do you think are perfect for summer? Tell me in the comments!

-Sky

Leave a Reply

