Posted in Monthly TBR, Monthly Wrap-Up

April Wrap-Up/May TBR

Hello!

Once again, we have a month where my posting schedule has gone completely out the window. I wasn’t even all that busy this month. For some reason, I just wasn’t feeling inspired and couldn’t think of any posts that I really wanted to write. I’m just not one of those people who’s going to force themselves to make a post when I’m not feeling well. I’d rather write posts when I’m feeling happy and I know the content is going to be good (or at least as good as it usually is).  On a similar note I’m planning on doing a life update post soon, so if you’re interested, check that out.

Despite having only 2 posts this month, I read a ton of books. Here are the books I read in April –

51tldzuc2bnl                     51dvlcrs0gl-_sy344_bo1204203200_                26156987

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne: ★★★ I think part of the reason why I didn’t like this book more is because the audiobook I listened to was TERRIBLE. It was basically read by Siri (it was definitely a computerized voice). The only reason I continued with it was because the story itself wasn’t horrible. I just didn’t find it to be anything special. I’d probably have enjoyed this a lot more if I was analyzing it in a class.

I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai: ★★★★ Guys! I finally did it! I read this book almost a year after buying it. I really enjoyed it. Malala’s story is incredibly inspiring, and I’m so glad I was able to read this book, and I learned so much of it. My only complaint is that it felt a bit pedantic at times, and focused more on the events going on around Malala than on her life itself.

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo: ★★★★ Unlike Scarlet Letter, the audiobook for this was amazing. I loved every second of it. I love that this book is #ownvoices, and so much care was taken to make this book as inclusive as possible (the audiobook is narrated by a trans woman, and the cover features a trans woman). I’m so happy this book exists, because although it isn’t the happiest book in the world, it’s honest, and so incredibly important.

25701463                    a_thousand_splendid_suns                 sweet_far_thing

You’re Welcome Universe by Whitney Gardner: ★★★★ I’ve become more and more interested in d/Deaf culture over the past year, and this book was a great resource for me. I learned so much from this book, both about street art and the deaf world. The only reason I didn’t give this one five stars is I didn’t feel like there was anything particularly special about it to make it worth that extra star.

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini: ★★★★ This book, in Hosseini’s tradition, was incredibly depressing. I loved the writing style, and the character’s were all beautifully written, but I can’t ignore how immensely painful this was to listen to on audiobook. My mother listened to it with me, and both of us were appalled by some of the events in this book. While I loved The Kite Runner because it was gut-wrenching and heart-breaking, I felt like this one hit a little too close to home, as it focused more on the female experience. I also felt like the book started to drag a little towards the end.

The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray: ★★★ I’m so happy that I finally finished this trilogy. It’s definitely one that I’m going to love for a long time. That being said, this book was definitely my least favorite of the three. It was far too long in my opinion, and it felt very repetitive, particularly with Gemma’s narrative.

ocean_at_the_end_of_the_lane_us_cover                   25613472                  norsemythology_hardback_1473940163

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman: ★★★ I went into this book with really high expectations, and unfortunately this book just didn’t live up to them. I didn’t particularly like any of the characters, and I didn’t really buy into the world like I thought I would. I had a similar issue with The Graveyard Book, but I was able to forgive the world-building because I feel so deeply in love with the characters. I wished I liked this one more, but… I just didn’t.

A List of Cages by Robin Roe: ★★★★ This book absolutely broke me. It was surprisingly dark for a YA novel, and it was raw and felt so real. I was there with the characters through every minute of it. My only complaint is it took me a little while to get into the perspective changes, and I felt like the plot was a little bit unbalanced. Small things in the beginning in the middle, then one huge thing towards the end. I also felt like the end was a little bit rushed.

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman: ★★★ I listened to part of this book on a 7-hour drive with my friend’s family. We didn’t get through the whole thing, and while I did enjoy it, I’m not sure I’ll go out of my way to get a copy to finish it. So, I decided to give it three stars. It was good enough that I listened to it attentively while it was playing in the car, but not quite good enough that I want to finish it.

25812109                                                                                lwto-paperback-cover-hr

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis: ★★★★★ Mindy McGinnis is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. Her writing and her characters are absolutely perfect. I had to read Crime and Punishment in high school, and I absolutely hated it. After Clara mentioned that this book took everything wrong with that book and fixed it, I was already sold. She was right. It was all that and more.

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley: ★★★★★ I finally read a Robin Talley book! Yay! It did not disappoint. This book was so brutally honest and powerful, and really taught me a lot about the Civil Rights movement that wasn’t taught to me in school. On top of that, I loved all of the characters, and the writing was spectacular.

clip-art-dividers-clipart-library-page-divider-clipart-3300_471

Now, for my May TBR! 

51v-zo8sxkl-_sx331_bo1204203200_                     51tnmxeogvl                dracula-book-cover32075671                     28763485                7740048-_uy200_

13638125                                                                               51vnabl1eql-_sy344_bo1204203200_

 

What books did you read this month? What books are you planning on reading in April? 

-Sky

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

