Posted in Monthly TBR, Monthly Wrap-Up

March Wrap-Up/April TBR

Hello!

Who can believe it’s already April? It honestly still feels like January to me. I don’t know where the time has gone. I had a pretty ok reading month in March, but I’m not quite where I want to be with my reading. I’ve been giving myself a little bit of a break, as I adjust to a new job and am also still dealing with all of my aforementioned health issues. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to get back to normal in April, though I’m going to be visiting family for a week later this month, so who knows?

Here are the books I read in March –

20308537                 28101540                30095473

The Game of and Death by Martha Brockenbrough: ★★★★ Since I started a new job, my mother and I have been carpooling to work, and we wanted to listen to audiobooks together on our 45 min commute. When I went to the library to get one, I couldn’t resist picking up a couple of books for myself, and this was one of them. I really enjoyed this one. It took me a little while to become really invested in the characters, and at times the plot was a little confusing, but overall it was a great read.

Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall:  ★★★★★ This book was SO good. I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it going in, but by the end all of those doubts had completely disappeared. I loved this book so much. Since I’ve been struggling a lot lately with my own mental health, seeing it portrayed so well in this book was really relatable and made me feel a little more ok with facing my own problems. Plus, the romance was adorable, and I liked that it didn’t interfere with the reality of mental illness. Romance isn’t a cure for mental health problems.

The Pants Project by Cat Clarke:  ★★★★ This book was super cute, and very important. I loved the diverse cast of characters, and our narrator’s voice was both hilarious and endearing. You can read my full review here.

25203675                   the-steep-and-thorny-way-cat-winters              51i2a4zz8tl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi: ★★★ This book had a lot of potential, but ultimately I feel like too much was attempted. There were too many loose ends for me to really understand what happened, and the plot moved a little too quickly for me to become attached to the characters. I might give the second book in this series a try, but it’s definitely not high on my priority list.

The Steep and Thorny Way by Cat Winters: ★★★★★ This book was everything I wanted it to be and more. I loved making all the little connections to Hamlet, but I also loved that it wasn’t a carbon copy. All of the characters were unique and complex, and I loved how each one was so thoroughly developed. Definitely a new favorite.

The Heartbeats of Wing Jones by Katherine Webber: ★★★★★ Wow. My emotions. Help. All of the characters in this book were so beautiful, and as painful as it was, I absolutely loved learning their stories and following them through this hard time in there lives. I loved seeing the inner conflict that came along with their simultaneous love for Marcus, and hatred for his mistakes. I loved that, while as a whole they came together to become a stronger unit, they also had their moments when everything fell apart and no one was left to pick up the pieces.

1618

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon: ★★★★ This was the first audiobook I listened to with my mom on the way to and from work. It was a hilarious and ridiculous book, but it also packed a punch. Not many of the characters are very likable, and they could be very frustrating at times, but overall this was an amazing audiobook to listen to. (I don’t think I would have liked it nearly has much just reading it)

 

2017 TBR GOALS: 0/12 (I promise I’ll get there eventually)

CLASSICS FOR 2017: 1/12 (Almost 2, I’m hoping to finish The Scarlet Letter on Monday)

clip-art-dividers-clipart-library-page-divider-clipart-3300_471

And now, my April TBR – 

25613472                   51tldzuc2bnl              sweet_far_thing51dvlcrs0gl-_sy344_bo1204203200_                   51v-zo8sxkl-_sx331_bo1204203200_              a_thousand_splendid_suns

 

25701463                 26156987                32075671

What books did you read in March? What are you planning on reading in April? Tell me in the comments!

-Sky

 

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

6 thoughts on “March Wrap-Up/April TBR

  1. I really need to read You’re Welcome, Universe and Under Rose-Tainted Skies! I’ve been so behind on reading lately and there are SO many amazing books that I’ve been meaning to get to…can it just be summer already?

    1. Yeah, I still feel like I’m really behind, too. I haven’t read The Hate You Give, Our Own Private Universe, The Female of the Species, Unexpected Everything, or Caraval yet. So many great books to read, so little time.

Leave a Reply

