February Wrap-Up & March TBR

Hello,

So, because February was such a bad reading month for me, I decided to combine my wrap-up with my March TBR. Hopefully March will be better, though I am starting a full-time job on Thursday, so who knows?

I managed to read 5 books in February –

51crnbekawl-_sy344_bo1204203200_                  we-are-okay-by-nina-lacour                  9781620404959

Gabi, A Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero: ★★★★ This book had some moments that were absolutely perfect. I loved the poetry more than anything else in the book, and I wish that the rest of the narration had lived up to its beauty. My biggest issue with this book that lost it a star was the fact that, while it had its moments, it didn’t consistently blow me off my feet. There were plenty of times where the book was just “good” and not great.

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour: ★★★★ This is the first book I’ve read by Nina LaCour, and I was pretty conflicted over how I wanted to rate it. LaCour’s writing style is gorgeous, and I this book was emotional and raw and beautiful. However, this book sort of sets up the premise of our main character Marin running away from this monumental occurrence in her life. And then the big reveal, and…??? What? That was it? The event didn’t seem nearly significant enough to me to support the drama of the whole story, and was honestly a pretty big disappointment. I decided to give the book 4 stars, because of LaCour’s phenomenal writing style, but honestly I probably would have given the plot 2 stars.

Insomniac City by Bill Hayes: ★★★★★ I got sent this book by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I’m a bad reviewer who read this book WAY too late, but I’ll have my review up this Saturday, I promise! In the mean time, I absolutely adored this book. It was an honest memoir told in little vignettes that were both endearing and beautiful, while also feeling completely true and unabashedly represented who the people were without any filters.

cover_277                                                                                   61znaba02bdl-_sx335_bo1204203200_

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss: ★★★★★ I’ve been meaning to read this book for years, and when I got back from Pennsylvania, my neighbor had left her copy in my house to read. This book took me a really long time to read, which got a little frustrating towards the end, but overall I really loved it. The characters were all really complex and interesting, and while there weren’t a ton of major plot points, it reads the way a real memoir would, which was really nice. I don’t know when I’m going to be able to pick up the next book in this series, but I hope I can get my hands on it soon.

The Marvels by Brian Selznick: ★★★★★ I read this book in one sitting. It was a quick, easy read that I flew through, and I’m so glad I read it. This book is beautiful for so many reasons, and the artwork that makes up over half this books is spectacular. This book has definitely earned its way onto my all-time favorites shelf. It was so moving and genuine and every single page conveyed the characters and the plot in such a fascinating way. This book is definitely worth picking up.

And now, my March TBR – 

Since February was such a bad reading month, I’m going to be reading mostly books that help me catch up on all of my TBR goals for 2017, as well as all of the review books that I’ve fallen behind on. I’ve got a couple extras in there, though, just in case I have time.

30095473                    sweet_far_thing                30095464

The Pants Project by Cat Clarke: I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I have been so excited to read this book for so long. I can’t wait to finally pick it up, and while I’m definitely not going to have a review up before the book gets released next Tuesday, I’ll have it up as soon as possible. This book is about a transgender boy who, because of dress codes at his school, is forced to wear a skirt. I’m so excited to read this book, because it’s an LGBT+ middle grade, which is so important, but also because it looks like a great read.

The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray: I’m finally going to be finishing off the Gemma Doyle trilogy this month. I will do it if it kills me. I swear. I wanted so badly to read this last month, but I just didn’t read at all when I was at school, and since I’ve been home I just haven’t been in the mood to pick it up. Definitely going to get to this one soon, though, because I want to know how it ends!

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco: I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This book is also being released next Tuesday. I’ve heard some pretty mixed things about this book, but I’m curious to see what I’ll think of it. I really like the premise, and think at least that has potential.

51dvlcrs0gl-_sy344_bo1204203200_                   51tnmxeogvl                51v-zo8sxkl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai: Don’t ask me how many TBRs this has been on. I don’t know. I don’t want to know. Too many.

American Gods by Neil Gaiman: I’m not sure how I’m going to feel about this one, but I’ve heard some pretty amazing things so I’m hoping I’ll like it as much as I like The Graveyard Book. I’m just not sure why I’ve put it off for almost a year. I think I just need to pick it up and get it over with already.

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath: I’m super excited to read this one. I’ve heard some pretty great things about it, and it’s pretty short so I think it will be a quick read. Planning on picking this one up ASAP.

51tldzuc2bnl                  lwto-paperback-cover-hr                  25613472

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne: I put this book on the list of classics I want to read in 2017, and I’m hoping that I’ll read it this month. I’m actually planning on listening to an audiobook of this, since it’s only about 7 hours long. I have quite a few friends who love this book, so I’m pretty excited to finally be getting around to it.

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley: I’m really excited about this book. I haven’t read any Robin Talley before, but I’ve heard she’s a fantastic writer. I also picked up a copy of her newest book (Our Own Private Universe) so hopefully I’ll get to that one soon, too.

A List of Cages by Robin Roe: This is another book that I’ve heard some pretty mixed things about, but the people who I align most closely with in bookish opinions have loved it, so I’m pretty confident that I’m going to enjoy this one.

the-steep-and-thorny-way-cat-winters                                                                                   28763485

The Steep and Thorny Way by Cat Winters: A Hamlet retelling with a female biracial Hamlet? Yes, please! Oh, and it’s written by Cat Winters? YES. I can’t wait to pick this one up.

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon: This book has been tentatively set as the buddy read between me and Clara from @Lost in My Library. Even if we end up not doing it as a buddy read, I want to pick this one up really soon, because I’ve heard it’s really good, and I loved Everything, Everything. 

What books are you planning on reading this month? What books did you read in February? Let me know in the comments!

-Sky

Leave a Reply

