January Wrap-Up

Hello!

So, I’m trying to get back on a regular posting schedule, and since I haven’t read anything recently, I figured I’d start off by going back to when I was reading. I managed to read a total of 15 books in January.

51jmh81uuol-_sx332_bo1204203200_          20983366-_uy400_ss400_41jjhstclwl-_sx311_bo1204203200_

The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth: ★★★ This book was really important, and while I liked it, it felt a lot longer than it needed to be. You can read my full review here.

Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken: ★★★★ This was an awesome conclusion to this duology. Bracken has officially earned her spot as one of my favorite authors of all time, and I can’t wait to see what she writes next.

If This is Home by Kristine Scarrow: ★★★★ I received an eARC of this review through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This book was incredibly refreshing and I loved it so much more than I thought I would. You can read my full review here.

22205               dreadnought_coverlarge            51ghuxwlbml-_sx331_bo1204203200_

This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen: ★★★★ Typical Sarah Dessen – cute, light, fluffy contemporary. Looking forward to reading more of her books in the future.

Dreadnought by April Daniels: ★★★★★ I was sent an eARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This book was everything I’ve ever wanted and more from a superhero novel that is #ownvoices. You can read my full review here.

The Inconvenience of the Wings by Silas Dent Zobal: ★★★★ This is a collection of short stories written by a professor at my school. While a lot of the stories were very hit-or-miss for me, one thing that was consistent throughout all of them was the incredibly masterful writing.

c7ebb412098531-562574beece19             18196040                   220px-libbabraybeauty

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen: ★★★★ I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about this one, since I didn’t like Emma, but I actually ended up enjoying it quite a lot. It wasn’t nearly as good as Pride and Prejudice, but it was still pretty good.

The Walled City by Ryan Graudin: ★★★★ I absolutely loved this book. It was fast-paced, and the relationships between all the characters were fantastic. I really hope Graudin writes more books soon.

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray: ★★★★ I forgot how much I loved this book. I read it for the first time a few years back, but I never carried on with the series. I’m finally getting around to finishing this trilogy, and I’m so glad it’s happening.

rebel_angels                25014114            51waazcd2ul-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Rebel Angels by Libba Bray: ★★★★★ This series keeps getting better and better. I can’t wait to read the third one, though I’ll admit the hugeness of it is a little intimidating.

History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera: ★★★★★ I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about this, considering my incredibly mixed feelings about More Happy Than Not but this book is probably going to be added to my all-time-favorites list. It was so beautiful, painful, and I can’t even process how much I loved it.

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh: ★★★★★ I have never, never related to a book so strongly in all my life. I read this the day that I left for the airport to go back to school, as well as in the airport when I was waiting for my flight trying not to have a physical and mental breakdown, and it helped so much. Definitely an all-time-favorite, and I probably wouldn’t even have made it on the plane without this book.

These next three books were read for my classes: 

1371                  book_r49                    61vdtd0icfl

The Iliad by Homer: ★★★ I read this book as a senior in high school, and actually really enjoyed it. I didn’t enjoy the reread nearly as much. I found the characters to be incredibly annoying and the story wasn’t nearly as interesting as the first time around.

The Ecclesiastical History of the English People by Bede: ★★★ This book was interesting, and I read bits and pieces of it for my Medieval Literature class, and it really provided some interesting fodder for discussion about the time and the world we were studying.

Alfred the Great by Asser: ★★★ I also read this book for my Medieval Literature class, and we had some pretty interesting discussions regarding Alfred, and the author, Asser. Would I have ever read these two books on my own? Absolutely not. Were they interesting and relevant for the class? Definitely.

TBR Goals Update: 

Classics: 1/12

TBR Must-reads: 0/12 (I’m almost done with the Gemma Doyle trilogy, so this will change soon)

What books did you read in January? Are you keeping up with your reading goals so far? Tell me in the comments!

Sky

 

2 thoughts on “January Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

