Top Ten Tuesday: 2017 Debuts

Hello!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is your top 10 2017 debuts that you can’t wait to get your hands on. I have so many books that I am excited for that are coming out in 2017, and I was surprised to find out that quite a few of them were debuts, so I actually had to narrow this list down a bit before I got to 10.

27883214                       24763621                    27827203

Caraval by Stephanie Garber: I’ve been hearing so much about this book recently, and everything I’ve heard has been amazing. People have been comparing it to The Night Circus and Alice in Wonderland, and while I haven’t read The Night Circus, this combination sounds beautiful. (Release Date: January 31, 2017)

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones: I’m not really sure how I first came across this book, but immediately I was hooked. The premise of this book is so interesting: our main character trades herself in her sister’s place to rescue her from the Goblin King, marrying him instead. She’s always loved the idea of the Goblin King and his art, and in the marriage she is still able to be inspired by him, but her life is fading away due to the bargain they made. This sounds like it’s going to be a beautiful emotional rollercoaster, and I’m so excited.  (Release Date: February 7, 2017)

Frostblood by Elly Blake: I’ve heard some mixed things about this book, but overall the things I’ve heard have been good. While the premise isn’t entirely original, there is still a lot that can be done with it, and I’m looking forward to seeing where Elly Blake takes this new series. (Release Date: January 10, 2017)

51i-h33m4kl-_sx329_bo1204203200_                               31206814-_uy200_                            31145148

Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller: You had me at one word: pirates. I’ve always loved pirate stories, and I wish I had read more of them when I was younger. Unfortunately, they don’t seem to be as popular anymore, so it makes me really happy to see it here. On top of it all, we have a badass female pirate as our main character. What’s not to love? (Release Date: February 28, 2017)

Wait for Me by Caroline Leech: I have recently discovered that I absolutely love the historical fiction genre. This one looks absolutely amazing, and I can’t wait to read it. I love the premise of the main character overcoming the prejudice that has been ingrained in her since the start of the war, and finding out that not everyone is evil just because of where they come from or who they are. (Release Date: January 31, 2017)

The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich: This book, sounds so amazing, I actually can’t handle it. I feel like everyone is getting a little tired of the “love triangle” trope, and the two personality types typically associated with it. This book turns that trope on its head, and I’m absolutely thrilled, and I can’t wait to get my hands on this book as soon as possible. (Release Date: May 16, 2017)

22847526-_uy810_ss810_        32075671-_uy400_ss400_  32051720

After the Fall by Kate Hart: The premise of this book reminds me a little bit of The Sky is Everywhere, but I have a lot let issue with the love triangle set-up in this one. It sounds like it’s going to be a really powerful book, and I want to read it very soon. (Release Date: January 24, 2017)

The Hate You Give by Angie Thomas: IMPORTANT. SO IMPORTANT. I am so glad that we’re starting to see more representation in YA literature, and on top of that we have books like this that represent what’s really going on in the world today. (Release Date: February 28, 2017)

Wicked Like a Wildfire by Lana Popovic: The description of this book made me fall in love. I absolutely love the magic foundation in this story, and I think it’s going to be a positively fantastic new series that I’m going to devour immediately. It’s so disappointing that we have to wait so long for the release of this one. (Release Date: August 15, 2017)

Dear Martin by Nic Stone: This one doesn’t have a cover yet, but like The Hate You Give, this book is extremely important. Written from the perspective of a boy writing to Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., this book explores race relations in such an interesting way, and I’m really excited to read it. (AND IT COMES OUT ON MY BIRTHDAY!) (Release Date: October 17, 2017)

What debuts are you excited for in 2017? Tell me in the comments below!

-Sky

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2017 Debuts

Leave a Reply

