Posted in bookblog, bookblogger, General Information

December Wrap-Up

Hello!

December was a great reading month for me, which is no surprise, since my first semester at college ended on December 10, leaving me with the rest of the month to read to my heart’s content.

I read 17 books in December, with 7 rereads (I’m still technically rereading Deathly Hallows, but I’ll finish it today for sure). Here are the books –
261562031                             24966                              16131489

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye:  ★★★★★ I can’t believe it took me so long to get around to this. I loved it so much and I can’t wait to read The Crown’s Fate.

Provocations by Soren Kierkegaard:  ★★★ (for school) This book was interesting, when I could understand the really complex language and ideas that were used to convey moral standings.

The Last Star by Rick Yancey:  ★★★ I loved the first book in this series, but the rest of the trilogy went dramatically downhill in my opinion. While I did like this one more than The Infinite Sea, I found myself just completely unable to care about the end of this series.

22299763                         17234658                             51iectrxgml-_sx336_bo1204203200_

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo: ★★★★★ While it took me a while to get into Six of Crows, I jumped back into this world from page one, and I loved every second of it. I really wish we could have more books centered around these characters, because I love them all so much.

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray: ★★★★ I liked this first book a lot, but for a large portion of it I was pretty confused about the world-building, and had to consult Clara for some clarifications (get it -it’s a pun).

Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray: ★★★★★ I had no problems with this book. Once I figured out what was going on in terms of the world-building, I was all in. One of this book’s most endearing qualities is how attached you get to the characters. I just want the best for them all.

28960100                             18054071                            51fa0mhsovl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray: ★★★★★ The conclusion to this trilogy was so satisfying. This may have just become my favorite trilogy of all time. I loved every single book, and I can’t ignore the absolutely gorgeous covers.

Like a River Glorious by Rae Carson: ★★★★★ This is yet another series that is definitely going to be one of my favorites of all time. I love all of the characters, and there are so many twists and turns you never know what’s going to happen.

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys: ★★★★★ I was not prepared for the amount of emotions I had over this book. I should have known, considering I read Salt to the Sea earlier this year. I loved this book (if possible) even more, and I’m so glad I finally picked it up.

61u24vs7erl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson: ★★★★ While I did enjoy this book a lot, I didn’t like it quite as much as I’ll Give you the Sun, and I had some pretty serious issues with the relationships. I had a hard time suspending my disbelief to accept one side of the love triangle as an option, due to some spoilery things I won’t mention. Overall, this book was an emotional rollercoaster, and I did enjoy it, I just had some small problems with the love triangle.

Rereads: 

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone ★★★★★

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets ★★★★★

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban ★★★★★

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire ★★★★★

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix ★★★★★

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince ★★★★★

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows ★★★★★

What books did you read this month? Did you meet your Goodreads goal? Tell me in the comments below!

-Sky

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “December Wrap-Up

  1. Wow, I’ve never heard that Clara/clarify pun before. So original. Not like it inspired my personal instagram handle or anything. 😉

    I can’t believe it took you this long to read The Crown’s Game, either! How long have I been nagging you to read that? But I guess you’d been nagging me to read A Monster Calls for about a year, so I guess we’re even. And I completely agree about the Firebird trilogy – that one and The Darkest Minds (and maybe Hunger Games – I need to reread Mockingjay) are pretty much tied for my favorite trilogy ever, and that’s saying a lot.

    1. I think we’re even. What do you think of the new blog format? Better? I hope people like it I was really tired of my old format, and now I have all my links at the top which is useful

  2. Crooked Kingdom was SOOOOO good 😥 that ending though. Salt to the Sea is one of my favorite books, so I’ve been wanting to read Sepetys’ other books for a long time now, especially Between Shades of Gray. I loved your “clarification” pun. XD

Leave a Reply

