Classics I want to Read in 2017

Hello!

So, similarly to my last post, I am looking for ways to cut down the size of the TBR pile that I currently own. A large chunk of my books are classics that I never get around to picking up. Next year, I want to make a goal for myself to read at least one classic per month, and these are the books that I’ve chosen to fill this goal –

c7ebb412098531-562574beece19

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

I’m actually going to hedge this a bit and say I’d really just like to read any and all Jane Austen I can get my hands on. This one just happens to be the only one I have at home with me that I haven’t read. I also own Persuasion and Mansfield Park, but I left those at school. So my priority isn’t necessarily this book in particular, but just reading more Jane Austen, because I have some very mixed feelings about her. Pride and Prejudice is arguably one of my favorite books of all time, but I was incredibly disappointed with Emma, so I want to read more of her books to form a more informed opinion about her as an author.

top-10-best-seller-books-1-a-tale-of-two-cities-by-charles-dickens

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

I have heard nothing but good things about this book, but I think I’ve put it off because it’s a pretty big book, so I’m a little intimidated. The only Dickens that I’ve read is A Christmas Carol, which I love, so I definitely want to read more of his books in the future, starting with this one.

51cuwb0dupl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

The Odyssey by Homer

I had to read The Iliad my senior year of high school, and I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. I’m actually going to have to re-read it next semester for one of my classes, so I figured why not also read The Odyssey while I’m at it?

51rah7c2nxl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

I never had to read this in high school, surprisingly, but I have friends who had to read it, and they all enjoyed it. So, I figured why not pick it up? I’ll probably have to read it eventually for a class, considering I’m a literature major anyway.

1984_by_alcook-d4z39dh

1984 by George Orwell

I had to read Animal Farm as a freshman in high school. While I wasn’t a huge fan of that book, I’ve heard much more positive things about this one, and it was referenced so much in the classes I took last semester that I feel the need to read it just to understand all of the connections.

aa4ed28f424e46575dc384d98a09d7cf

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

I have always been fascinated with the Frankenstein narrative, so I think it’s finally time to read the source material. Not only is this book the birth and origin of the whole science fiction genre, it also has a female author, which I think is pretty amazing.

41640df0b011e51f4f5917a7c5c22ea9

Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson

This one is a bit random, but there is a story behind it. This is one of the books that I have owned for the longest time. I’m pretty sure I bought it when I was eight or nine years old. This means that I have owned it, and haven’t read it, for almost ten years. I just need to get this one over with already.

anna20karenina20book20cover20vintage

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

I watched the movie adaptation of this book earlier this year, and I absolutely loved it. Keira Knightly is one of my favorite actresses, and Jude Law is just so pretty. The problem is this book is HUGE, well over 800 pages, and everyone that I know who’s read it has said that while it is very good, it’s also very, very slow. So, needless to say this book is pretty intimidating for me, but I’m going to try it.

51tldzuc2bnl

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne

I’m not entirely sure what drew me to this book, other than the fact that it’s a classic, and I got it for 50 cents from a used bookstore. Since then, however, it seems like more and more people have been raving about it to me. I have at least four friends that I’ve made in college that have praised this book completely independently, so I’ve found myself becoming more and more excited to read it. I definitely want to get to this one soon.

wuthering-heights-schalabi

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

This is another one that I’ve owned for a really long time, and for some reason have never finished. I’ve picked it up a couple of times but I’ve never gotten farther than the first couple of chapters. I’m absolutely determined to finish it this year.

51v-zo8sxkl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

I wasn’t really aware of this book before this year, but my roommate had to read it for one of her classes, and she really enjoyed it, so I decided to pick it up. I’ve also started hearing more about it from the literary community, in particular about it as a very interesting portrayal of mental illness. One of my goals for next year is to diversify my reading more, so I feel like this might be a good place to start.

dracula-book-cover

Dracula by Bram Stoker

Here we have yet another book that I’ve heard a lot about since I’ve been at college. I didn’t ever think I would be interested in reading this, but in the past few months I’ve learned more about the story and the writing, and I’m really interested to see what I think of this book. On top of it all, this is a queer book! I’m really excited to see how that’s handled throughout this story.

What are your favorite classics? Do you have any recommendations for me? What classics do you want to read? Tell me in the comments!

-Sky

2 thoughts on “Classics I want to Read in 2017

  1. I want to read Sense & Sensibility, too! I think we’re on the same page with Jane Austen – I really liked Pride & Prejudice, but didn’t care for Emma at all. So if we agree on the rest of them, you’re going to like Northanger Abbey and Persuasion (and probably Mansfield Park, but I’m only about a quarter of the way through that, so I can’t really say). You should really get a copy of Northanger Abbey – it was such a fun read!

Leave a Reply

