Posted in book review, bookblog, bookblogger, General Information

November Wrap-Up

Hello!

I can’t believe I come home from my first semester at college in a week! I’m so excited I can barely breathe. Unfortunately this also means that finals are this week, and I have so much work to do it’s terrifying. I wasn’t able to read at all in the past week, but because of Thanksgiving break I was able to get through nine books this month.

Black Dove, White Raven by Elizabeth Wein

This one is technically a DNF, but I’m counting it in my TBR. There was nothing particularly wrong with this book, it was just extremely boring to me. I got about 2/3 through it and found myself with absolutely no motivation to finish, especially since I had so many other great books to read. 

Sweet Lamb of Heaven by Lydia Millet

I had to read this book for a class…. And I honestly almost didn’t read the whole thing. I’m the type of student that gets really pissed off and annoyed at those students who don’t read the assigned texts, because how can we have a valuable class discussion if you don’t readddddd???? But this one. Just was not worth my time. I did end up reading the whole thing, but I was miserable for every second of it. 

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I read Illuminae earlier this year, and absolutely loved it. It was so unique and the writing was incredible. I was a little apprehensive going into this one because I knew we were going to be following new main characters, and I wasn’t sure how they were going to replace my babies from the first book. I ended up loving this book so much. The new characters were so great and they fit in the story so well. I can’t wait for the next one. ★★★

Blood for Blood by Ryan Graudin

I was really excited for this book, and it did not disappoint. While it may not have been quite as fast-paced as the first book, the character development that we got to see made up for it. I also really loved how I never really knew what was going on, even when I thought I did. The twists and turns in these books are what make them so entertaining. ★★★

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo

I was not prepared for how emotionally invested I was going to be in this book. Not at all. It was so good and I loved it so much. It was a really quick read and it probably would have been one of my favorites if I had read it when I was younger. ★★★

Emma by Jane Austen

I was so excited for this book. I’ve only ever read Pride and Prejudice before, but I’ve heard from a lot of other people that Emma is just as good. This book was such a disappointment. One of the things that I loved so much about Pride and Prejudice was the witty banter between all of the characters. There was none of that in this book, and it was just so uninteresting. ★★

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

I loved An Ember in the Ashes when I read it, and I was super excited for this one. If possible this was even more fast-paced and crazy than the first one. I loved every second of it and I can’t wait for the next one to come out. ★★★

Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson

First off, thank you to Clara for recommending this to me. She’s been trying to get me to read it for months, and I finally did it. It was amazing. I loved the characters, and while the plot was occasionally slow, it kept up a good enough pace that I was never bored. I can’t wait to read Like a River Glorious soon. ★★★

Before the Fall by Noah Hawley

This is another book that I had to read for school. I didn’t actually read the whole thing. I couldn’t. Noah Hawley is a screenwriter, which means his writing is incredibly… dull, descriptive, and dry. In a 400 page book? This is not a good motivator. 

What books did you read this month? Tell me in the comments!

-Sky

 

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

One thought on “November Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

