Posted in General Information

Top Ten Tuesday: Movies

Hello!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly blog feature at The Broke and the Bookish, and this weeks theme is Top Ten Favorite Movies. As much as I love reading, I am also a huge movie geek, and Netflix is basically my #2 hobby. So, here are my top ten favorite movies (in no particular order) –

1. Pride and Prejudice (Keira Knightley Version)

I grew up on this movie. It used to play on one of the tv channels on my tv (I don’t remember which one), but I would just record it and watch it over and over again. I read the book for the first time when I was nine, and I fell in love with it as well. Since then, I think I’ve seen/read Pride and Prejudice at least 10 times, and I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of it.

2.The Way He Looks

I actually just watched this movie for the first time about a week ago, but since then I’ve re-watched it twice. I am so addicted. It’s a Brazilian film (in Brazilian Portuguese), and it features a blind protagonist, and 2 main gay characters. I have decided that this movie is the film equivalent of Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agendaso… I mean do I need to explain how adorable?

3.Beauty and the Beast

I am a Disney child. Still today. I have always loved Disney films, but this one is probably my favorite Disney film of all time. Since I was 3 years old I have wanted to be Belle, hence the obsessive reading and book-buying (library goals much?). I’m so excited that there is going to be a live-action film soon, because I truly believe that Emma Watson is going to do it beautifully.

4.The Road to El Dorado

This movie is SO underrated. Why has no one heard of this? Why isn’t it on everyone’s favorite list? Elton John and Kenneth Brannagh? Need I say more? Another childhood favorite, I was so excited to rediscover this movie on Netflix a few years ago. I’ve been re-watching it every few months since, falling in love with it all over again every time.

5.Chicken Run

I can’t say that I enjoyed this movie much when I was younger, but I think that was mostly because I didn’t understand the humor. Now that I’m older, the humor is so much more easy to appreciate, and I’ve made it a tradition to re-watch this movie the night before I go back to school for the past three years. It’s a great de-stresser, and I love watching it again and picking up on new jokes that I haven’t noticed before.

6.On Golden Pond

This is my mother’s all-time favorite movie, and I remember the first time she showed it to me as one of my favorite memories. It has become one of the defining features of our relationship. The humor fuels our inside jokes and keeps us laughing until we cry, and the relationship between the two main characters reminds me so much of my grandparents it’s almost scary.

7.A Knight’s Tale

I miss Heath Ledger. This movie is absolutely hilarious. Renaissance story with modern dialogue and soundtrack. The perfect combination for some slapstick, as well as witty dry humor that keeps me laughing for hours. I would definitely recommend this to everyone who likes comedy.

8.The Birdcage

This movie is so amazing in so many ways. Nathan Lane is my queen. Forever. Robin Williams is one of my favorite actors. Put the two together and you get some of the greatest comedy the world has ever seen. I’m never going to get over how beautiful this movie is, or how beautiful Robin Williams was.

9.Spirit Stallion of the Cimarron

Back into the childhood favorites. There aren’t really words for the amount of nostalgia I associate with this movie. I was obsessed with horses for about 3/4 of my childhood, and this was about 100% the reason for said obsession. To this day, this movie is probably my all-time favorite, and the soundtrack is also probably my favorite soundtrack of all time.

10.Where the Red Fern Grows

I haven’t seen this movie in years, but I watched it probably hundreds of times when I was little, and I died every. Single. Time. It was so gut-wrenching, and I remember the first time I read the book I almost couldn’t function upon finishing it. This is definitely one of my childhood favorites that I won’t ever be able to forget.

What are your favorite movies? Do you have any recommendations for me? Tell me in the comments!

-Sky

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Movies

  1. You like Where the Red Fern Grows?? That was so gut-wrenchingly depressing that i still have bad memories of it, and I haven’t read/seen it since elementary school. But on a more positive note, we absolutely need to watch Pride and Prejudice together at some point because that movie is AMAZING.

  2. Spirit!! I watch this one all the time, it’s very underrated i think. Great list by the way. In case you’re interested, please check out my film review blog for awesome reviews or even just new movie suggestions. Or check out my latest post, top ten tuesday christmas movie edition! Thanks for sharing! https://reelviewsbysara.wordpress.com/blog/

Leave a Reply

