Posted in bookblog, bookblogger, General Information

October Wrap-Up

Hello!

Considering the fact that October was the month of midterms, I was not expecting to read much. However, October was also the month of midterm break, in which I had four days to do nothing BUT read. Unfortunately, after midterm break, I sort of got stuck on Black Dove, White Raven, which I am still currently reading, but I still managed to read ten books this month.

Wolf By Wolf by Ryan Graudin

Thank you to Clara from Lost in My Library for bugging me for months to read this book, because I absolutely loved it. There were a few things that bothered me a little bit about this book, but overall it was a great, fast-paced read. I can’t wait to read the next book in this duology! ★★★

The Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

I had to read this book for a class, and while I did enjoy it a lot, and I feel that it was very important, there were parts of it that were confusing and didn’t seem to fit in with the overall narrative. ★★★

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

Thanks to Clara for recommending this one. This book was SO interesting, and was a perfect Halloween read. It was creepy, psychological, and had the perfect mix of the contemporary life of today and the primitive, old-fashioned life of centuries past. ★★★

The Chosen by Chaim Potok

This was another book I had to read for class, and it was much more interesting than I thought it was going to be. I had never really read any Jewish literature before, and while I wasn’t a huge fan of the book, it was definitely very interesting to see the interaction between the two main characters, who are on opposite sides of the same religion. ★★

Lucky by Alice Sebold

This book took me far too long to read, since it was only a little over 200 pages. I liked it a lot, but I found myself losing interest about half way through, and the end was a bit confusing. The writing was a little bit dry and clinical-feeling for me, but the story was intense and overall I did enjoy it. ★★★

A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

Thanks again to Clara for making me read this. From all of the strong recommendations that I’d gotten from Clara, I knew I was going to love this book. I did. I loved it so, so, so much. I did write a full review which you can read here.  ★★★

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

I’ve been wanting to read this for a really long time, but I’d seen a lot of mixed reviews for it, so I’d placed it pretty low on my priority list. I picked it up when I saw it in my school’s library, and I have no words for how much I loved this book. I was planning on doing a review for this book, but unfortunately I didn’t get around to it before I had to return it to the library, but in short, I’m not entirely sure why everyone has so many mixed feelings about it. ★★★

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

This was another book that I’d heard mixed reviews about, but I ended up really enjoying it. There were a few things that I felt were resolved a little bit too easily, and part of it that I can’t really identify fell flat. ★★★

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

This was a book that I really wanted to like, but I didn’t. I didn’t hate it, but it just could have been so much better than it was. I couldn’t identify with any of the characters, and I just ended up not feeling invested in the story. ★★

Freakonomics by Steven D Levitt

Another book that I had to read for class, and I actually enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would. It was interesting and comedic, and made economics (something I REALLY don’t excel at) something that was fairly easy to understand, at least on a surface level. ★★★

What books did you read this month? Did you read any spooky books for Halloween?

-Sky

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

One thought on “October Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

