Posted in bookblog, bookblogger, bookhaul, General Information

Library Book Haul

Hello!

So the first half of my first semester of college is over, which means that I am currently on Fall Break. This is basically just a four-day weekend for people to go home and take a break after midterms. Unfortunately, I was not able to go home since my college is in Pennsylvania and I live in California. However, this does give me a pretty amazing opportunity to spend four days reading. So, naturally, I went to the library.

Here are the books that I got while I was there – (for those of you who may be wondering, it has come to my attention that pictures and images aren’t working in my posts, so I’ve stopped using them, at least for now)

A Madness So Discreet – Mindy McGinnis

I’ve actually already read this one, and I’m planning on reviewing it, so stay tuned! Thank you to Clara from Lost in My Library for recommending this book to me. Since I’m writing a review, I don’t want to go into too much detail yet, but in short I absolutely loved it!

The Rest of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness

I just finished this one about twenty minutes ago, and I’m still a bit of a wreck. This is another one that I want to review so stay tuned for some more in-depth feelings and thoughts about this (somewhat controversial) book.

Station Eleven – Emily St. John Mandel 

I don’t know a lot about the premise of this book, but everything I’ve heard about it has been great, so I’m really excited to pick this one up.

The Light Between Oceans – M.L. Stedman

I’ve heard a few mixed things about this book, but the premise seems interesting, and while it might be one of the later books that I pick up on this list, I am definitely intrigued.

Black Dove, White Raven – Elizabeth Wein

I read Code Name Verity a few months ago, and I loved everything about it. While I’ve heard that this one isn’t quite as good, I’m still very excited to read this.

All the Bright Places – Jennifer Niven

This is another one that has some pretty controversial reviews. It’s part of the reason that I’ve put it off for so long, because I don’t really know what I’m going to think about it. But you can’t really know until you try, right? So I’m going to try.

Everything, Everything – Nicola Yoon

These books seem to have a trend towards mixed feelings. This another one that I’ve heard both good and bad things about, but overall the reviews are mostly positive. The only problem is the few bad reviews I’ve seen are reviews of people absolutely despising this book, so it seems there isn’t much of a middle ground.

I’ll Meet You There – Heather Demetrios

This is one that I hadn’t heard much about, but when I read the synopsis I immediately knew I wanted to read it. Firstly, the main character shares my name (even if it’s spelled wrong) and secondly, it looks like it will leave me an emotional wreck, which is usually the kind of book I gravitate towards.

While I don’t know if I’m going to get through all of these books, I’m certainly going to try, and with the long weekend ahead of me, and two books already done, I’m feeling pretty confident.

What are you reading this weekend? Tell me in the comments!

-Sky

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

One thought on “Library Book Haul

Leave a Reply

