October TBR

Hello!

Since this is my first TBR in a really long time, I feel compelled to explain how I want to do this (at least for now). If I have anything general that I’d like to say about the book, I will, and I will also add a summary of the book. I have a relatively unambitious TBR of 5 books, plus two books that I have to read for classes. I’ll start with those.

Books for School – (there may be more added to this list in my wrap-up)

Persepolis_film.jpg

Persepolis by Marjane Satraps

I’m actually already about 2/3 through this book, but since I’ll be finishing it in October, I’m going to count it as an October read. I’m reading this book for my Thought class, where we are talking about it in the theme of memory (why she put the things she did into her memoir).

Persepolis is the story of Satrapi’s unforgettable childhood and coming of age within a large and loving family in Tehran during the Islamic Revolution; of the contradictions between private life and public life in a country plagued by political upheaval; of her high school years in Vienna facing the trials of adolescence far from her family; of her homecoming–both sweet and terrible; and, finally, of her self-imposed exile from her beloved homeland. It is the chronicle of a girlhood and adolescence at once outrageous and familiar, a young life entwined with the history of her country yet filled with the universal trials and joys of growing up.

41ZPUySSONL._SX299_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

The Chosen by Chaim Potok

I have to read this book for my Faiths and Values class. While I haven’t started it yet, I’m interested to see what my professor decides to take from this, and I’m excited to get the new religious perspective.

It is the now-classic story of two fathers and two sons and the pressures on all of them to pursue the religion they share in the way that is best suited to each. And as the boys grow into young men, they discover in the other a lost spiritual brother, and a link to an unexplored world that neither had ever considered before. In effect, they exchange places, and find the peace that neither will ever retreat from again….

Books for fun – 

41gWa8eF6eL.jpg

Lucky by Alice Sebold

I actually started this book at the beginning of September, but I’m only about halfway through it because I had so much school reading that I decided to put it down for a while, and then Empire of Storms arrived and well… Priorities. I’m definitely going to finish it this month, though.

In a memoir hailed for its searing candor and wit, Alice Sebold reveals how her life was utterly transformed when, as an eighteen-year-old college freshman, she was brutally raped and beaten in a park near campus. What propels this chronicle of her recovery is Sebold’s indomitable spirit – as she struggles for understanding (“After telling the hard facts to anyone, from lover to friend, I have changed in their eyes”); as her dazed family and friends sometimes bungle their efforts to provide comfort and support; and as, ultimately, she triumphs, managing through grit and coincidence to help secure her attacker’s arrest and conviction. In a narrative by turns disturbing, thrilling, and inspiring, Alice Sebold illuminates the experience of trauma victims even as she imparts wisdom profoundly hard-won: “You save yourself or you remain unsaved.”

51LKTQmvKxL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

Clara from Lost in my Library has been trying to get me to read this book for MONTHS, basically since she read it. However, every time I go to the bookstore, it’s never there. I finally managed to find a copy in my university’s library. So I’m hoping to pick this one up soon.

Her story begins on a train. The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule. To commemorate their Great Victory, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor’s Ball in Tokyo.
Yael, a former death camp prisoner, has witnessed too much suffering, and the five wolves tattooed on her arm are a constant reminder of the loved ones she lost. The resistance has given Yael one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler. A survivor of painful human experimentation, Yael has the power to skinshift and must complete her mission by impersonating last year’s only female racer, Adele Wolfe. This deception becomes more difficult when Felix, Adele twin’s brother, and Luka, her former love interest, enter the race and watch Yael’s every move.But as Yael grows closer to the other competitors, can she bring herself to be as ruthless as she needs to be to avoid discovery and complete her mission?

41350y21tlL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

This is another book that was recommended to me by Clara, and another one that I’ve never been able to find in store. I officially love my university’s library.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust. And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too. Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it’s clear that Minnow knows something—but she’s not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

51dVLcrS0gL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

I come from a country that was created at midnight. When I almost died it was just after midday. When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, one girl spoke out. Malala Yousafzai refused to be silenced and fought for her right to an education. On Tuesday, October 9, 2012, when she was fifteen, she almost paid the ultimate price. She was shot in the head at point-blank range while riding the bus home from school, and few expected her to survive. Instead, Malala’s miraculous recovery has taken her on an extraordinary journey from a remote valley in northern Pakistan to the halls of the United Nations in New York. At sixteen, she has become a global symbol of peaceful protest and the youngest-ever Nobel Peace Prize laureate.

Book for TBR Jar Challenge – 

e.jpg

Emma by Jane Austen 

I skipped my TBR jar for the month of September, so I just decided to pick two challenges for the month of October. The two challenges I drew were (1) Read a classic (2) Read a book you’ve owned for more than a year. This book fits both requirements, so it’s the one I’m going to try to read this month.

Beautiful, clever, rich – and single – Emma Woodhouse is perfectly content with her life and sees no need for either love or marriage. Nothing, however, delights her more than interfering in the romantic lives of others. But when she ignores the warnings of her good friend Mr. Knightley and attempts to arrange a suitable match for her protegee Harriet Smith, her carefully laid plans soon unravel and have consequences that she never expected. With its imperfect but charming heroine and its witty and subtle exploration of relationships, Emma is often seen as Jane Austen’s most flawless work.

What books are you planning on reading in October? Do you read scarier books around Halloween? Tell me in the comments below!

-Sky

Leave a Reply

