Posted in General Information

September Wrap-Up

Hello!

So, as you can imagine, my September reading wasn’t my best, considering that I was settling in to college life. However, I did manage to read five books, though three of them were for classes.

As promised in my update post, I’m going to test out some statistics here. I am also open to some feedback here if you have any in particular that you’d like to see, so comment below!

Total Books: 5

Favorite Book: Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas (5 stars)

Least Favorite Book: Zero K by Don DeLillo (2 stars)

Longest Book: Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas (689 pages)

Shortest Book: Night by Elie Wiesel (112 pages)

Reviews: While I don’t currently have any reviews posted for these books, I actually have to write a review of Zero K for one of my classes, so I may do a post concerning that review eventually. (look for a link here in the future)

Ok, here are the books –

gemini-front-cover-drop-shadow.jpg

Gemini by Sonya Mukherjee

This book showed so much promise. The premise of having the two main characters being conjoined twins was so fascinating and I was so excited to jump into this. I ended up having a lot of problems with this book. It was super trope-y, and I the execution of the dual perspectives was terrible. I could never distinguish between the twins, a huge problem when you’re trying to write a novel proving that conjoined twins are not the same person. ★★★

61JPcCSRAXL.jpg

Lord of the Flies by William Golding

I had to read this book for my Faiths and Values class. I went into it sort of expecting to hate it, but I ended up liking it quite a bit. While I had some problems with the writing style, and the characters often got mixed up in my head, this book was very thought-provoking and interesting, and I’m glad that I read it. ★★★★

zero-k-9781501135392_hr.jpg

Zero K by Don DeLillo

As stated above, this book was my least favorite of the month. I had to read it for my Literary Themes class, and I actually have to review it for the class as well. I understand why we read it for this class, and I think it really fits into the topic of the class, it was far too existential and disjointed for me. I didn’t like the writing style, and there was virtually no plot or character development, so the book just felt kind of pointless. The only reason I enjoyed it at all is that occasionally there was a deep, thought-inducing sentence that I pondered for a while, but overall I definitely won’t be rereading this. ★★

51FEhUEvwLL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas

This book was my favorite book I read this month. I read most of it over the course of two days, and despite being nearly 700 pages, I flew through it. It did take me about 100 pages before I really got back into the characters and the story, but once I was in, I was in. This book was so emotionally draining, but I loved every minute of it. I can’t wait for the final installment in this series, because it’s going to be one hell of a ride.  ★★★★★

night.jpg

Night by Elie Viesel

This is the second time I’ve read this book, and I had to read it for my Faiths and Values class. I loved it both times I read it. Not only is it extremely heavy and powerful, it’s also incredibly inspiring and thought-provoking. It really puts an interesting perspective on the Holocaust, and how its events shaped the beliefs of its victims. ★★★★★

What books did you read this month? What was your favorite? Are you in school? How is your year so far? Tell me in the comments!

-Sky

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

