Posted in bookblog, bookblogger, General Information, my life, Uncategorized

College/Blogging Update

Hello!

For those of you who don’t know, I am now officially at college! I moved in at the end of August, and am now a little over a month into school. I decided to not feel too much pressure to be blogging for the first month or so while I got into a bit of a routine and settled in. I love my university so far,  and although I wasn’t quite lucky enough to get a lot of classes that are relative to my major this semester, all of my classes so far are going really well. I’m taking Faiths and Values, Advanced Conversation and Phonetics (French), Literary Themes, and two required classes: Thought (my Honors program class), and Perspectives, which is the freshman seminar. My favorite so far is definitely Thought, because the class is basically just reading really interesting articles and books and then talking about them with a bunch of people who are just as interested in them as you are. We’re currently reading Persepolis, which is incredible. It’s one of the most interesting works I’ve ever had to read for a class.

Now that I’ve had some time to settle in to a routine here, I’m ready to start blogging again, and I’d like to establish some goals for myself. Firstly, I would like to get back into reviewing. When I used to do reviews, I reviewed every single book that I read. This put a lot of pressure on me to have really in-depth feelings about everything. That wasn’t really feasible and I ended up getting really frustrated, so I took a break. I’d like to try again now, but I’ll only review the books that I feel like reviewing, to take some of the pressure off. Secondly, I want to try to be a little more consistent with my posts. I definitely want to post something every Saturday, and I’m going to try to get at least one more in per week, though I’m not as concerned about what day that goes up. Thirdly, I would also like to post monthly TBRs and Wrap-ups. I’m not usually the kind of reader that uses a TBR, but I think in college having a schedule for what books I want to read will encourage me to read a little bit more. My last goal for myself is to start including some reading statistics in my wrap-ups. This is mostly inspired by Lost in My Library‘s wrap-ups. I don’t know which statistics I will be including yet, so bear with me if I’m testing some different formats for that over the next couple of months.

Stay tuned for my September Wrap-up, as well as an October TBR which will hopefully come out later this week!

I hope everyone is having a wonderful autumn!

-Sky

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

