Posted in bookblog, bookblogger, General Information

Books I’m Taking to College!

Hello!

I can’t believe I’m going away to college in less than two weeks. It’s so surreal that this summer went by so quickly and I’m about to start this huge new chapter in my life. As I’ve started preparing for this cross-country move, I’ve had to make the horrifically hard decision of what books I want to take with me to my first semester of college. I ended up deciding to limit myself to 25 books – 5 of my all-time favorites, and 20 books from my TBR shelf.

Here are the books that made the cut:

ALL TIME FAVORITES –

Harry_Potter_and_the_Sorcerer's_Stone.jpg

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – JK Rowling

If anyone is surprised by this choice, I’m very disappointed in you. OF COURSE I’m going to take this book. Apart from being one of my all-time favorite series ever, this book also just holds a lot of nostalgia for me, and I’m sort of hoping that revisiting this world will help combat some homesickness that I’m bound to feel moving away from home for so long.

19063.jpg

The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

I’ve only read this book twice, but it’s probably my favorite historical fiction book that I’ve read. I’d love to reread it again soon, so it’s coming with me.

18143977.jpg

All the Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr

This book is along the same line as The Book Thief; it’s one of my favorite historical fiction novels, and I’d love to reread it at some point. In addition, this is also a book that I recommend to people frequently, so I’d like to have it with me to loan out to people.

Kite_runner.jpg

The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini

This is probably one of the most reread books I have on my shelf. I love going back and resisting this story, because every time I read it, I feel like I notice something different or learn something new. Plus the beautiful writing and heartbreaking story never stop being moving and enthralling.

51YD0qrSr6L._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda – Becky Albertalli

Well, I had to bring one fluffy contemporary right? This one was the obvious choice to fill that slot. A quick and a easy read, this book will probably get me out of a lot of reading slumps.

BOOKS ON TBR SHELF –

41gWa8eF6eL.jpg

Lucky – Alice Sebold

In an attempt to create a balanced TBR for myself, I decided to bring along a couple of nonfiction reads. This was the first one that came to mind, since it’s been on my TBR shelf for over a year. I loved The Lovely Bones, so I’m really excited to read the story behind the author that wrote it.

51dVLcrS0gL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I am Malala – Malala Yousafzai

Malala has been one of my biggest inspirations since I first heard of her. She is such a strong, powerful, independent woman and I admire everything she stands for. I’m so happy that I get the chance to read about her, and I’m really hoping to get to this book soon.

{597F92E0-70DF-4BAC-A72D-86F05EC3DAA5}Img100.jpg

My Heart and Other Black Holes – Jasmine Warga

I picked up this book a couple of months ago, and for some reason I just haven’t been in the mood to read it yet. I’m hoping that if I take it with me it will motivate me to read it before I come home for the holidays.

gemini-9781481456777_hr.jpg

Gemini – Sonya Mukherjee

This is actually my most recent book purchase, but I’m already so excited to read it. It’s probably going to be one of the first books I read once I get settled in to college.

26156203.jpg

The Crown’s Game – Evelyn Skye

First off, can we admire how gorgeous this cover is? Secondly, thank you to Clara for recommending this book to me. I’m hoping to read this as soon as possible because it looks AMAZING.

a-man-called-ove-9781476738024_hr.jpg

A Man Called Ove – Fredrik Backman

I actually picked this book up out of my neighbor’s lending library box, since I’d heard so many good things about it. I think I might have to be in a certain mood to read this, because I’ve heard that it can emotionally wreck you, but I hope I can read this at some point.

51FA0MHsOVL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Between Shades of Gray – Ruta Sepetys

I still can’t believe I haven’t read this yet. I read Salt to the Sea a couple of months ago, and I’ve been meaning to read this one since then, but I’ve been putting it off. I think I just haven’t been emotionally ready for this book, but I’ll read it soon.

american-gods.jpg

American Gods – Neil Gaiman

This is another one that I’ve been putting off for some reason. I just haven’t been in the mood for it, and I don’t want to force myself through it, because I know I’m going to enjoy it… Once I’m in the mood.

16131489.jpg

The Last Star – Rick Yancey

I should have read this book the second it came out, but for some reason I didn’t. I think I’m just intimidated by the fact that I don’t really remember what happened in the first two books, but I also don’t want to have to reread the whole series. I’m hoping if I read some summaries of the first two it will be enough to be able to read this one.

9781616956776-400x600.jpg

More Happy Than Not – Adam Silvera

This is yet another book that I’ve been procrastinating reading. I’ve heard so many mixed reviews of this one that I’m just not sure what to think about it. I have to go into it with as little expectations as possible so I’m not reading with a bias of not liking it.

51bTSHaEn8L.jpg

The Diviners – Libba Bray

I’ve been wanting to read this book for YEARS, but I’ve never been able to find it in Barnes and Noble. I finally found it a month ago, and promptly decided that it was wayyyy too big and intimidating to read right away, so I’m taking this with me as a long “savor-me” read.

this-lullaby.jpg

This Lullaby – Sarah Dessen

I read my first Sarah Dessen book a few weeks ago during the 24-in-48 marathon, and I’m so excited to read more of her books. While I have 2 currently on my TBR shelf, I decided to just take one for now, and I can always pick up the other one later.

11486.jpg

The Color Purple – Alice Walker 

I haven’t heard a ton about this book, but what I have heard seems to be pretty strongly in favor. I don’t feel a ton of pressure to pick this one up right away, but I would like to read it eventually.

Screen+shot+2014-11-16+at+3.39.53+PM.png

The Mara Dyer Trilogy – Michelle Hodkin

I have been putting off this trilogy for WAYYYY too long. I wanted to bring one complete series with me to school, and this was the only one that I even considered, because it’s way past time I read these and just got them over with. I don’t know why I haven’t read them yet, honestly. I have no logic.

005160.jpg

 

Withering Heights – Emily Bronte 

I have no excuse as to why I have not yet read this book. It has been on my shelf. FOR EIGHT YEARS. Do I have an explanation? NO. It’s ridiculous. I know. I will read it. Don’t judge me.

Emma, Mansfield Park, Persuasion – Jane Austen

So, recently, I joined the Austentatious book club run by Zoe Herdt. These are some of the books they will be reading in the book club over the next couple of months, so I’m going to be bringing these along with me.

Do you think my TBR books are balanced enough? What books did you read in college? What are some of your all-time favorites that you couldn’t live without? Tell me in the comments!

-Sky

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

One thought on “Books I’m Taking to College!

Leave a Reply

