Posted in bookblog, bookblogger, booktag, General Information

Book Tag: the Olympics!

Hello!

I was tagged to do this by Clara from Lost in My Library. The Olympics are my favorite thing to watch on tv, and it’s one of the very rare times that you can actually find me watching live tv, rather than watching shows on Netflix. I love watching equestrian sports especially, as well as gymnastics, swimming, and table tennis. The beautiful icons on this tag were created by the original poster Shannon from It Starts at Midnight.

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda – Becky Albertalli
I read this book in one sitting, because it had me hooked from the first page. I stayed up far too late trying to finish this, but I loved every second of it.
The Fault in Our Stars – John Green
This book may seem a little weird for this choice, but I’ve actually read this one twice on a road trip. The first time was just by myself, but the second time I read it aloud in the car to my mother, who was driving. We got very close to finishing over the course of our 12 hour round-trip drive, and it was so much fun seeing my mom react as I read aloud.
The Infernal Devices – Cassandra Clare
I really need to go back and revisit this trilogy, because I love all the characters so much, and it’s been about 4 years since I flew through it the first time. I have no complaints about this love triangle whatsoever. Everything worked out the way I wanted it to.
The Martian – Andy Weir
I feel like I’ve been talking about this one a lot lately, but it just wasn’t a book for me. I loved it in a film format, but for some reason it just didn’t translate well onto paper for me.
Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between – Jennifer E. Smith
This book is set the night before Clare and Aidan go away to college, and spans the twelve hours in which they review their relationship in order to decide whether they want to break up or stay together. This is a perfect back-to-school summer read, and I think it’s a must for all graduating seniors.
A Storm of Swords – George RR Martin
Well, well, well. Can’t go into too much detail with this one without spoilers. I just finished this last night, and let’s just say I’m still not over how much pain this book caused me.
The Lunar Chronicles – Marissa Meyer
Well, Clara put the same answer for this one, but considering I’m the one that told her to put it, I don’t think she’ll mind me using it here. This series is filled with little twists and turns that keep you on the edge of your seat right from the very beginning, which makes for a very entertaining read.
The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
This book. I can’t actually say anything because spoilers. I’ve never had a book make me cry (yes, I’m a terrible person/robot, I know), but after I finished this book, I literally curled up in a ball on the floor and did not move for like 3 hours because I just couldn’t handle anything.
All the Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr
I love this book so much, but I can’t deny that it is pretty slow-paced. I just happen to think the slow plot is worth it, and makes sense considering the main characters are pretty much stuck inside for most of the book.
Magic Tree House – Mary Pope Osbourne
I probably read the first 30 books in this series over the course of my childhood. Even now seeing these books on the shelf in a bookstore sends a tidal wave of nostalgia over me. I loved this series so much in elementary school, and I could sit reading them for hours.
Black Beauty – Anna Sewell 
Ok, so this is kind of the obvious choice for equestrian, but I don’t care. This book was such a huge part of my childhood as a horse-lover, and I’ve read it probably 100 times, and seen the movie 1000 times. I’m honestly surprised I don’t have most of this book memorized by now, and I’m definitely due for a reread.
Speak – Laurie Halse Anderson
This was the third Anderson book I’d read, and I can’t really express how much of a disappointment it was. She handled mental and physical illness so well in the other two books that I had read (The Impossible Knife of Memory, Wintergirls) that I was expecting to be blown away by this depiction of the aftermath of sexual assault. I ended up really hating the main character, and not being sympathetic to a character who’s story was central to the whole book was just a recipe for disaster.
A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J Maas
Ok, so I don’t have any specific relationship in this one, but basically and of Rhysand’s friends with him are so amazing. They all fit together so perfectly, and they often put aside deeper feelings and grudges to preserve the beautiful relationships that they’ve been cultivating for years.
Lola and the Boy Next Door – Stephanie Perkins
This book doesn’t take place during the Olympics, but it does contain a figure skater.
Unbroken – Laura Hillenbrand
This is the only book I’ve read that actually features and Olympic athlete. In this case, Louis Zamperini. I guess I need to read more sports books… (hehe not actually)
Do you watch the Olympics? Who are your favorite athletes? What are your favorite events? If you were an Olympic athlete, which event would you compete in?
-Sky
Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

One thought on “Book Tag: the Olympics!

  1. You’ve never cried at a book?? Who are you? I can’t even begin to count all the books that have made me cry!

    And YES to The Infernal Devices! I need to reread that trilogy, too. And ACOMAF is such a good one for friendship!

Leave a Reply

