July 2016 Wrap-up

Hello!

Can you believe it’s already August? I move off to university in 19 days. That’s terrifyingly surreal. So, I have decided to attempt to post about twice a week, at least for the next couple of weeks until I move away, though I would like to keep this up into perpetuity. Since I only posted once last week, you guys are going to get 2 posts today. YAY!

This is the first post, and it’s going to be relatively short. Why? Since I already did a wrap-up for most of the books I read this month when I did my 24-in-48 Wrap Up. In total I read  10 books in the month of July, but 5 of those were read during the readathon, which you can check out in the link above.

Here are the 5 books I read outside of the readathon.

latest.jpg

A GAME OF THRONES – George RR Martin

This book was a reread for me, and is a part of my ASOIAF marathon that I’m attempting this summer. Both times I read this book I gave it a full 5 stars, despite the initial difficulty of reading a HUGE book told from several different perspectives. It’s not a particularly difficult read, as the language isn’t very elevated or uncommon, and it’s entertaining throughout.

41DNuJfahyL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

THE MARTIAN – Andy Weir

I’m going to count this one as read, though technically it should count as a DNF. While I can see the appeal of this book, and can appreciate it for what it is, it just wasn’t for me. I loved the movie, but for some reason the humor and the appeal of the story just didn’t translate onto the page for me. The writing was too formulaic, and I wish we’d gotten to see more of the other characters. I might give this one another try eventually, but I don’t feel any pressure to do so.

ms-marvel-vol-1-review.jpg

MISS MARVEL NO NORMAL – G Willow Wilson, Adrian Alphona

I’m basically going to copy/paste my Goodreads review here, as it pretty much sums up my feelings about it. I gave this comic 4 stars. This is the first comic I’ve ever read. While I loved the characters and I feel that it’s a very important comic, I’m still not sold on the actual formatting of reading a comic. Call me a purist, but I found the pictures to be just a little distracting and sometimes the order of the words on the page got confusing. I felt like the formatting slowed me down rather than pushed me along.

browngirldreaming.jpg

BROWN GIRL DREAMING – Jacqueline Woodson

This is the first book that I’m reading as part of a book club that consists of myself and 3 of my closest bookish friends. This book is written in free verse, and is the autobiography of a young black girl growing into herself and finding her identity as her family moves from the northeastern US to the deep south and back again. This is one of the most beautiful books I have ever read, and although it was a little confusing at times, I still ended up giving it a full 5 stars.

10572.jpg

A CLASH OF KINGS – George RR Martin

While it took me significantly longer to read this book than it took me to read Game of Thrones, I still enjoyed it just as much. It was interesting getting to see some new perspectives in this book, and while the pacing slowed down a little bit, I felt like we got to see a lot of character development that I was missing in the first book. I gave this one 5 stars.

EDIT: It has come to my attention that I have apparently forgotten about my TBR Jar challenge on this blog. I didn’t say anything about May, June, or July. The three challenges that I’ve fulfilled over the last 3 months are-

Library of Souls (Ransom Riggs) – May, a book between 200 and 500 pages

A Game of Thrones (George RR Martin) – I forgot to pick a challenge for June, so I picked 2 for July, this satisfied the first one: reread a favorite

A Clash of Kings (George RR Martin) – The second one for July,  a book over 500 pages

What books did you read this month? Are you a part of a book club? What are good books to read in groups?

-Sky

One thought on “July 2016 Wrap-up

  1. We should come up with a name for the book club! Or maybe we should focus on actually picking another book first…

    And if you have ANY interest in comics, I’d definitely suggest reading more. I got used to the format pretty quickly, and you know how many comics I read now. Also, sometimes when you borrow e-versions from online libraries, they have something called “action view” where it zooms in on one panel/speech bubble at a time.

Leave a Reply

