24-in-48: Wrap Up

Hello!

So, the 24-in-48 readathon has come to a close, and it is time to do a wrap up. For those of you who don’t know, the goal of the 24-in-48 is to read for 24 hours over a 48 hour period. While I didn’t quite succeed in reading for all 24 hours, I did quite well for my first try – reading for a total of 18 hours and 15 minutes.

I also managed to finish 5 books –

The first book I read is the Common Reading Assignment for all incoming freshman at my University. Every year at my school they literally make a book for all of their incoming freshman to read. It’s a compilation of essays/speeches/interviews/etc. that all center around a certain topic. This year the topic was passion. This book was mostly pretty interesting, starting off with a speech by Malala Yousafzai, who is one of my biggest role models. There were a few chapters that I didn’t like all that much, but that’s only because they were centered around scientific topics that I’m not interested in, nor do I understand. Overall this book was really powerful and interesting to read, giving me a lot to talk about in the essay that I will (eventually) write.

ISLA AND THE HAPPILY EVER AFTER – STEPHANIE PERKINS

This book, was so cute. I mean, I don’t know what else I was expecting, but just. The cute. Can’t handle it. This book was a fantastic end to the Anna trilogy, and while it wasn’t my favorite book in the set, I thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish. The only thing that bothered me was that Isla could be pretty frustrating at times, and some of the other characters’ actions (mainly her younger sister) really annoyed me. I ended up giving this book 4 stars.

WHEN YOU REACH ME – REBECCA STEAD

This book was, to quote the friend who loaned it to me, “trippy, but good.” This book was definitely more predictable than I thought it was going to be, but despite knowing exactly how this book was going to play out, I still read through it quickly, and I remained hooked throughout the whole thing. However, I did end up giving this book 4 stars only because it was so predictable.

THE MAGICIAN’S ELEPHANT – KATE DICAMILLO

This book was so adorable, and so sweet. Despite being a 200 page book, I finished it in just about an hour. The writing had such a poetic and lyrical feel to it that I flew through the pages, loving every minute of it. I gave this book 5 stars.

SAINT ANYTHING – SARAH DESSEN

This one is technically cheating just a little bit, because I finished it this morning instead of last night, when the readathon actually ended. However, since I read about 80% of it during the readathon, I’m going to count it anyway. This is my first Sarah Dessen book, and I loved it so much. It was everything that I want in a YA contemporary, the perfect blend of believable hardship and light, fluffy relationships. I’m definitely going to be reading more of her books, and very soon. I gave this book 5 stars.

That’s all, folks! How did your readathon go? Have you read any Sarah Dessen books? If so, which one is your favorite? Which Anna book is your favorite? Tell me in the comments!

-Sky

2 thoughts on “24-in-48: Wrap Up

  1. You actually have to write an essay for your required reading? I just have to read a book. Which I haven’t done yet. But soon.

    I’m so glad you liked Saint Anything!! You should also definitely read Lock and Key. And Along for the Ride. And basically all of them.

Leave a Reply

