Posted in bookblog, bookblogger, booktag, General Information

The Bookshelf Tour Tag

Hello!

I was tagged by Clara from Lost in My Library to do this tag, and I have to admit I’ve been putting it off because it was a little intimidating. But, in an effort to become a more consistent blogger (I’m going to try and get 2 posts up per week), here we are.

A SHORT BUT POWERFUL BOOK – 

A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

This book is one of the most moving and emotional books I’ve ever read. About dealing with fear and loss at a young age, this book packs a real punch for it’s 216 pages. I originally borrowed this book from the library, but I knew almost from page one that I had to buy my own copy.

A GOOD, LONG BOOK – 

The Iliad – Homer

This one may come as a surprise, since I don’t often talk about classics on this blog. I had to read this book before my senior year of high school, and I went into it expecting to be bored to tears, considering this book is older than it is long (nearly 700 pages). It is almost astonishing how much I enjoyed this book. I flew through it and managed to read it in 2 days, loving the witty and engaging writing combined with the ever-fascinating Greek mythology.

FAVORITE CLASSIC ON MY SHELF – 

Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen

While this may not be the most original answer, I couldn’t even consider using another book in place of this one. It is (deplorably) the only Jane Austen book I’ve ever read, but I have read it at least 4 times, and I fall in love with it every single time I pick it up.

A RELATIVELY OBSCURE BOOK – 

The Outside of a Horse – Ginny Rorby

This one was hard. I basically looked on goodreads and went up my list (starting from lowest number of ratings) until I found a book that I gave either 4 or 5 stars. This book has just over 700 ratings, but it is one that has stuck with me since I read it back in middle school. I grew up loving horses, and even had my own for a while, so reading a book where horses were used as service animals to treat war veterans suffering from PTSD was a really powerful and moving idea.

AN UNDERRATED BOOK – 

A Great and Terrible Beauty – Libba Bray

While I have only read the first book in this trilogy, I really enjoyed it, and I definitely think it deserves higher than its 3.78 average rating on Goodreads.

AN OVERRATED BOOK – 

 

The Martian – Andy Weir

DON’T SHOOT ME DON’T SHOOT ME. Hear me out. I can see the appeal of this book. I loved the movie. But I just couldn’t finish this book. The writing seemed far too formulaic, and I didn’t find it to be nearly as funny as people seem to think it is. So while I think the movie was great, and I may eventually go back and listen to this on audiobook, I was just bored to tears reading the words on paper.

MOST REREAD BOOK –

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – JK Rowling

Who’s surprised? Not one of you. Not. One. I’ve probably read the whole series at least 3 times, but this book I’ve probably read about 10 times. Something about the nostalgia of baby Harry discovering the wizarding world for the first time is so comforting, and I also try and marathon this series every December, but sometimes I only get through the first couple of books depending on how busy I am, hence why I’ve read this first one more than the others.

OF ALL THE BOOKS YOU OWN, HOW MANY HAVE YOU NOT READ?

I think my last count was somewhere between 80-90, but like Clara, most of my TBR shelf is classics that I feel no pressure to finish any time soon.

A BOOK YOU HAVEN’T READ – 

Between Shades of Gray – Ruta Sepetys

This one I honestly don’t know why I haven’t read it. I read Salt to the Sea a couple of months ago and LOVED it, but I think I’ve been putting this one off because I know it’s going to make me an emotional wreck, and I’m not sure I’m ready for that kind of trauma yet.

A SHORT STORY COLLECTION –

Let it Snow – John Green/Lauren Myracle/Maureen Johnson

Does this count? I think this counts. While this wasn’t the best book, I did still enjoy it, and it was a really good book to read around the holidays.

A NONFICTION BOOK – 

Bossypants – Tina Fey

I didn’t know how I was going to feel about this book, considering that I wasn’t familiar at all with Tina Fey at the time I picked it up, but it is probably the funniest book I’ve ever read. Tina’s stories were so relatable and human that I laughed until I cried. Definitely going to reread this at some point.

A BOOK THAT HAS AN INTERESTING STORY BEHIND WHY/WHERE YOU GOT IT – 

A Man Called Ove – Fredrik Backman

I don’t really have any really interesting stories behind any of the books I buy, but this one is a little bit interesting. My neighbor recently set up a lending library box outside her house, and I picked up this book there. It’s just a little wooden mailbox-type thing, and you take a book and leave a book behind. It’s a great way to get the community involved in reading, and I was one of the first people to exchange a book.

That’s it! Now for some quick updates – tomorrow I will be starting the 24-in-48 (feel free to join in! – just try to read for 24 hours over the next 2 days) readathon along with Clara, so be prepared for a wrap-up of that probably on Monday. Also, I’ve started a Bookstagram! You can follow me @skysreadingcorner.

Do you have any interesting book-acquiring stories? What underrated books do you own? Do you think any books are overrated?

-Sky

 

 

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “The Bookshelf Tour Tag

  1. You should read Persuasion! It’s the only Jane Austen book I’ve read other than Pride & Prejudice (I have no idea why) but I really liked it. And we BOTH need to read Between Shades of Gray.

Leave a Reply

