More Inactivity!

Hello!

I have some how managed to graduate high school. In the whirlwind of May and June finals and grades and stress, I had absolutely no time to post anything, and in May, despite the fact that I had more time to read than I’d had all year, I fell into a slump. Here we are, on July 1, and I’m still kind of slumpy. When I pick up a book, I can read it in a day, but then I don’t pick up another book for at least a week. I’ve never had a slump like this before, and I don’t really know how to get out of it, so I’m just going to do other things (like marathon 30 Rock) until I’m in the mood to read again.

Since I haven’t really been reading much lately, I decided that this post is just going to be a combined wrap-up between May and June. It could have been much worse, and looking back on it now, I’m actually relatively impressed that in May and June I managed to read a total of 14 books.

LIBRARY OF SOULS (Ransom Riggs) – 4 stars

I sort of wish that I had reread the first 2 books in this series before I read this one, since I spent about 75% of the book wondering who most of the characters were. However, I definitely liked this book a lot more than Hollow City, which I felt was much too slow and uneventful. This book was still slow for the first hundred pages or so, but once it picked up again I was hooked.

A COURT OF MIST AND FURY (Sarah J Maas) – 5 stars

Oh my gosh. This book. I can’t. Even. Nope. I’m not sure what I was expecting. But it wasn’t this. I guess I should have known from my experience with the Throne of Glass series that book two was going to be a sh*tstorm. Sarah J Maas has a very unique talent to write a first book in a series that is enjoyable, but not anything special or even original, and then continue the series by creating something incredibly complex and ridiculously amazing. It frustrates me to no end that the third book comes out in a year. A YEAR.

SIX OF CROWS (Leigh Bardugo) – 4 stars

It took me a really long time to get attached to any of the characters in this one, and the plot was very complicated. But for some reason I couldn’t put it down. By the end, I was far too invested in the plot and the characters, and now I can’t wait for the next book to come out. Sort of a shaky start to what looks like it’s going to be an amazing duology.

NAKED ECONOMICS (Charles Wheelan) – n/a

Quick mention here I skimmed this book before my economics final. I didn’t actually read this cover-to-cover, but worth mentioning that if you’re going to read it it’s got a fair bit of bias, but explains things well.

FAIREST (Marissa Meyer) – 3 stars

From what I’ve seen about this book, it seems to be one that people either love or hate. Mostly hate. I honestly am not sure what I feel about this book, because most of it just made me feel gross. However, I do think that was the point of the book. You are not meant to feel sympathy or empathy towards Levana. But I think that maybe it was taken a little bit too far. It was a well written story, but I didn’t enjoy the experience of reading it.

CRIMSON BOUND (Rosamund Hodge) – 4 stars

I put this book of for WAYYY too long. My friend loaned this to me back in like January, and I didn’t read it for a really long time, just because I didn’t think I was in the mood for it, and I had a sneaking suspicion that I wasn’t going to like it. I don’t know why I had this feeling, but it kept me from reading the book for nearly 5 months. I ended up really enjoying this one, even if the first hundred pages were a little bit confusing because of the worldbuilding.

SILHOUETTE OF A SPARROW (Molly Beth Griffin) – 4 stars

This book was also loaned to me by a friend, but I got to it almost immediately. I really enjoyed this book, and it was the first lesbian book I’ve ever read. Recently I’ve been trying to branch out into LGBTQIA+ fiction more, because I think it’s important and I’m also very interested in it. I’m also trying to branch out more into fiction that deals with mental and physical illnesses. But this one was a very good start, I must admit. While it was a little bit fluffier than I thought it was going to be, it was very cute and still dealt with a lot of issues that weren’t light.

THE WRATH AND THE DAWN (Renee Ahdieh) – 5 stars

It is very rare that I give the start to series 5 stars, and I actually am a little conflicted about this one. I went back and forth for a while trying to figure out whether I was going to give this a 4 or a 5 star rating, and I ended up going with 5 because I couldn’t really think of any concrete reasons why I wouldn’t give it the full 5 stars. It did take me about 50 pages to get into it, but that tends to happen when there is world building.

THE ROSE AND THE DAGGER (Renee Ahdieh) – 5 stars

Since I gave the first book 5 stars, I obviously jumped right into the second book. And I loved it. I don’t think it was quite as good as the first one, but I still loved it enough that I gave it 5 stars. It was really stressful, but it kept up a good pace and kept me interested from page one.

SPEAK (Laurie Halse Anderson) – 3 stars

I’ve been meaning to read this for years, and I finally picked it up. I wanted to love this book so much because I thought it was going to be so important, but I just didn’t like it. I didn’t like the main character, who is really the only character that we get to see enough of to become emotionally attached to. I couldn’t identify with her, which I feel is a very important aspect of the story. This character is meant to be able to be anyone, and yet she was absolutely nothing like me. I couldn’t identify or relate with her in any way, and I really didn’t like her at all, so it made the reading experience a little bit of a nightmare.

ALL YOU NEED TO BE IMPOSSIBLY FRENCH (Helena Frith Powell) – n/a

This one is technically a DNF. I got about halfway through it before I realized I had absolutely no desire to read it. The premise of this book sounded like a witty autobiography of learning to “fit in” while mocking every practice that comes along with “fitting in”. It was not this. It was a self-help guide on how to be skinny and perfect and wonderful just like French women, which I neither need nor want. So I won’t read it.

STARS ABOVE (Marissa Meyer) – 4 stars

Overall I loved this. It took me a really long time to get through, but I loved every minute of it.

The Keeper – 4 stars

Glitches – 4 stars

The Queen’s Army – 5 stars

Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky – 3 stars

After Sunshine Passes By – 4 stars

The Princess and the Guard – 5 stars

The Little Android – 4 stars

The Mechanic – 4 stars

Something Old, Something New – 5 stars

THE ART OF BEING NORMAL (Lisa Williamson) – 4 stars

This one took me quite a bit to get into, but I really enjoyed it. I felt like the main plot points of the story were a little bit too compacted towards the end of the book, so I wish they had been spread out a little bit more to make it more interesting right from the start. Despite taking about 200 pages to really get going, I still really enjoyed this, and I think it is EXTREMELY important. I did this as a buddy read with Clara from LOST IN MY LIBRARY.

AN EMBER IN THE ASHES (Sabaa Tahir) – 4 stars

I have been wanting to read this book since it came out, and I really enjoyed it. While the worldbuilding was a little confusing at times, I loved the characters and the story, and I can’t wait to see where this story goes next. I read this book essentially in one sitting in an airport, and I wasn’t bored on a single page. The writing was beautiful and engaging, and I’m so happy I finally got around to picking this up.

What books have you read in the past couple of months? Do you have any LGBTQIA+ recommendations for me?

-Sky

 

One thought on “More Inactivity!

  1. I felt EXACTLY THE SAME WAY about Fairest. It was well-written, and it was a good addition to the series, but I was grimacing most of the time because it was just. You know what I mean.

    And OH BOY do I have LGBT+ recs. Always. Trying to keep it to books with LGBT+ protagonists (but if you want ones with supporting characters, too, let me know): Everything Leads to You, Lies We Tell Ourselves, As I Descended (which hasn’t actually come out yet but it looks like it’s going to be AMAZING), Wildthorn, and Beautiful Music for Ugly Children. There are tons more on my TBR, so I’ll let you know if you should read any of those.

Leave a Reply

