Posted in bookblog, bookblogger, General Information

New Year, New Blog…?

Hello!

Long time, no see.

Well, apparently 2015 was not my year for blogging. To be perfectly honest, it was probably the most stressful year of my entire life thus far. So, it goes without saying that blogging, and even reading, were not high on the priority list. My sincerest apologies.

However, 2016 is a new year, and I’d like to try again. I think this year I will have more time to focus on really just enjoying my reading, rather than creating a high-pressure situation for myself where I feel like I have to read as much as possible as quickly as possible. I’d also like to focus more on truly absorbing everything I read, and letting the true meaning of the words sink in so that I can have real, thoughtful, and intelligent things to say about how I felt when reading the book.

As far as my blogging this year, I’m definitely going to change up my style quite a bit, as I think I’ve matured a bit over the past year, and I hope that my writing style has grown and matured as well. I would like to branch out a little bit just from “book-blogging”, and maybe talk about some of my other passions and hobbies, such as film and writing.

I will try to make my blogging as consistent as possible, and I’m hoping to get in about 1 post a week. These posts will very in their subjects, but I do still plan to keep track of my reading throughout this year, as during 2015 I stopped recording which books I read, and I regret it deeply. So much of my life revolves around what books I am reading, so I almost feel like 2015 is missing from my memory, because I can’t look back and judge what I was doing in a particular month by what book I was reading at the time.

As far as what you can expect from me this year, I’m going to cut back on the reviews. I don’t think it’s necessary to review every book I read, so I won’t. However, I will do monthly “wrap-ups” with some general thoughts about the books I read during that month. This also gives some flexibility with you, as my audience. I am always open to suggestions, so if there is a book that I don’t review that is in my wrap-up, feel free to leave a suggestion if you would like to hear more in-depth thoughts.

I also plan on doing some film reviews, though I can’t promise that these will come as often as book reviews, since taking the time to go to a theater is not always an option. However, as stated in the above paragraph, if there is a movie you would like to see a review of, I will go see it and review it, or at least do my best to as my busy schedule allows.

I am hoping that a large majority of my posts this year are just going to be discussions, whether they be current events or something that I find interesting that I would like to share. I don’t want to limit myself to just literature, as I feel that eventually, I will run out of words to say, and I will stop writing, which I never want to do again.

If you’ve made it to the bottom of this post, CONGRATULATIONS! Thank you for sticking with me through the last year of absolutely nothing, and I’m sorry for leaving you hanging. I’m hoping that the same will not happen again. Ever.

Thanks!

– Sky

 

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Blog…?

Leave a Reply

