Posted in bookblog, bookblogger, booktag

Tag #12: Reader Problems

Enjoy! 😀

QUESTIONS
1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I usually go with what I WANT to read. I’ve found that if I pick a book in advance, I end up not enjoying reading it as much, because I have this mentality of “You HAVE to read this,” which makes it much more stressful and less enjoyable.
2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

I usually force my way through it, however, with books like EMMA by Jane Austen, I end up putting it on my desk after reading for a while and it’s still sitting there 3 months later completely untouched with the bookmark still in it where I left off.
3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

I usually just try to make more time for reading in my schedule. If I know I’m not going to make it because of outside obligations, I will lower it. I’ve already lowered my goal quite a bit this year from 100 books down to 75 book, and I am currently at 50 book read (which according to Goodreads is 15 books behind schedule). I am determined not to lower it from 75, though. I WILL make it if it kills me.
4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

I cry. For years. Literally, that would drive me insane. I’ve been lucky enough to not have a problem with this yet, and all of my series match so far, but I’m really hoping that there aren’t any changes that I come across in the future.
5. Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

I don’t think I’ve ever experienced this. I usually read pretty “mainstream” books that everyone likes. In addition to this, I surround myself with a  group of friends that have really similar reading tastes to mine, so what other people think doesn’t matter as much to me.
6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I am a robot. I don’t cry. I just don’t. I’ve never read a book that has made me cry. I’ve also never watched a movie that’s made me cry. I have feelings, I swear, I just don’t cry.
7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!?

I try to remember as much as I can, and hope that the sequel will fill in the rest of the details that I’ve forgotten, because I really don’t have time to reread the first book, nor am I willing to skip over the sequel.
8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

I actually don’t mind lending out my books, because the only people who know about my collection are people who love books as much as I do. In fact, some of my friends call me their “little librarian,” affectionately. The only books I don’t lend out are books that have been signed, which are extremely few on my shelves.
9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

It really depends on how much time I have. If I’m relatively crunched for reading time, I will probably just take a break from reading for a while. If I have more time on my hands, I usually reread one of my favorite books to remind me of how much I love reading.
10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I get $20 in book money a week, so that usually gets me one hardcover per week or two paperbacks per week. I have a list on my phone of books I want to get that is ever-fluctuating.
11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

Depends on the book, and whether I’m currently reading a book. I try to get them as quickly as possible, but sometimes it just doesn’t work out that way.

~PhantomhiveSky

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

