Posted in book review, bookblog, bookblogger

Book Review #17: Just One Day by Gayle Forman

Enjoy! 😀

First of all, I want to apologize for the ridiculously long hiatus. School has been an absolute nightmare of studying, homework, and tests. All of that coupled with rehearsals on Saturdays and Sundays have not been a good combination for my reading habits.

JUST ONE DAY stars Allyson Healey, who meets Willem while on a trip in Europe, and they decide to spend one day in Paris before she returns to America. Plot ensues.

I definitely enjoyed this book, though, if I’m perfectly honest, it wasn’t my favorite. It was reminiscent of THE STATISTICAL PROBABILITY OF LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT by Jennifer E. Smith, but didn’t quite meet up to that standard. The writing wasn’t quite as poetic, and the plot just wasn’t as interesting.

I went into this book expecting it to be similar to THE STATISTICAL PROBABILITY OF LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT in that I thought the entire book would take place over the course of one day, however, it did not. While I understand this choice, I feel like some of the middle ground was a little unnecessary, and the entire middle section of the book felt much slower than I wanted it to be. I felt like Forman could have gotten the same point across in half the amount of words.

I also didn’t quite feel like there was nearly enough character development, and Allyson’s relationships with the other characters were either confusing, or just completely unresolved by the end of the story. Especially Allyson’s relationship with her best friend Melanie. I felt that Forman left that hanging for the reader, not really explaining how Allyson has changed in respect to this relationship, and how Melanie responds to this change.

The ending was also very reminiscent to Rainbow Rowell’s books, there just wasn’t enough pages at the end for me. I know there is a companion book, but it’s not a direct sequel, so I don’t think I’ll get much more resolution there. We’ll see, I suppose.

I gave JUST ONE DAY by Gayle Forman 3 out of 5 stars.

~ PhantomhiveSky

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

