Posted in book review, bookblog, bookblogger

Book Review #15: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Enjoy! 😀

Ok.. Where to start? I can’t really form any coherent thoughts about my feelings towards this book. When I finished it, I literally read the last sentence and sat there gasping for air for a minute. I physically could not breathe. It was too much for me to handle. I don’t really even understand why I reacted in this way, I just did.

This book was so sweet and adorable. I think my heart melted about every 2 pages. It broke on all the other pages, in a good way. I absolutely fell in love with these characters, in a way I never expected to. After reading FANGIRL, I knew Rainbow Rowell could have a powerful effect on my emotions, but I wasn’t really expecting to connect to the characters as much as I did. I knew that Eleanor wasn’t like Cath, and that I probably wouldn’t connect to her in the same way, simply because I knew she wasn’t going to be the “nerdy book-lover” character that I relate to so well. Of course, Rowell out-does herself by still making her characters incredibly nerdy, quirky, intelligent, and all around lovable.

Eleanor and Park fit so beautifully together, and the way Rowell portrayed their relationship was like nothing I’ve ever read before. I didn’t know a book could make me feel this way about people holding hands, or looking at each other. It was almost scary. I don’t think I’ve ever read a more beautiful relationship, and I don’t think I ever will again. There’s something so simple about the way they fit together, and yet so complex. It’s like a box of electrical wires. On the outside, it’s just a box, but on the inside, it’s a terrifying mess of wires that will shock you if you touch them.

I gave ELEANOR AND PARK 5 out of 5 stars.

~ PhantomhiveSky

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

One thought on “Book Review #15: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

