Posted in Uncategorized

Tag #7: Goodreads

Enjoy! 😀

Before I get into this tag. I would like to do the “On My Shelf” Tag, and I would like you guys to give me some coordinates! If you are confused I recommend you watch this video. I have 11 shelves, so your first coordinate can have any # from 1-11. Your second coordinate probably shouldn’t be more than… let’s say… 40 just to be safe. Please leave a few in the comments below! I really want to do this tag! 😀 Thanks

First off, if you have a good reads and would like to add me, you can do so HERE

1) What was the last book you marked as “read?”

SON (THE GIVER #4) by Lois Lowry

You can read my review of this book here

2) What are you currently reading?

EMMA by Jane Austen

and

A GAME OF THRONES by George RR Martin

Stay tuned for a review of GAME OF THRONES which will hopefully be going up this weekend! The review for EMMA should be up by the following weekend.

3) What was the last book you marked as “to-be-read?”

I use my “tbr” list on goodreads only for my monthly TBR, any books that I don’t own that I want to buy go on a list on my phone, not on goodreads.

The last books I added were for my August TBR which consists of EMMA and A GAME OF THRONES (now in the “currently reading” tab), A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS by Khaled Hosseini, NEVER FADE by Alexandra Bracken, and IT’S KIND OF A FUNNY STORY by Ned Vizzini.

4) What book do you plan to read next?

After I finish EMMA and A GAME OF THRONES, I’m planning on reading IT’S KIND OF A FUNNY STORY by Ned Vizzini. If you’d like to see NEVER FADE or A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS first, I am of course open to suggestions, so COMMENT BELOW!

5) Do you use the star-rating system?

Yes. At first I didn’t like it, because you don’t have the option of half-stars, but I slowly got used to it. I can’t say I would complain if they added half-stars, though.

6) Are you doing a 2014 Reading Challenge?

Yes, and I am dismally behind. I set myself a goal to read 100 books this year, but unfortunately I’m only at 42 books, which leaves me at about 17 books behind…

7) Do you have a wishlist?

Not on Goodreads specifically. I keep a list of all the books I want to buy on my phone with their prices from the online B&N store. I am thinking of getting an amazon wishlist, though.

8) What book do you plan on buying next?

WHERE SHE WENT by Gayle Forman

I read this book in elementary school, but never got my own copy. I live in Southern California, and tomorrow Gayle Forman will be at the Glendale B&N for a book-signing event! You have to have proof that you bought her book at a B&N so I’m going to go tonight and buy her book, and then I will be getting it signed tomorrow! 😀 This will be the first time I’ve met an author and I’m super excited!

9) Do you have any favorite quotes? Will you share one?

So, I “like” quotes on Goodreads, but I also write all of them down in a notebook. I would have to say my favorite quote isn’t actually a book quote, per se. It’s a John Green quote from his YouTube Channel.

“Saying, ‘I notice you’re a nerd’ is like saying, ‘Hey, I notice that you’d rather be intelligent than stupid, that you’d rather be thoughtful than be vapid, that you believe that there are things that matter more than the arrest record of Lindsay Lohan. Why is that?’ In fact, it seems to me that most contemporary insults are pretty lame. Even ‘lame’ is kind of lame. Saying ‘you’re lame’ is like saying, ‘You walk with a limp.’ Yeah, whatever, so does 50 Cent, and he’s done alright for himself.”

~ John Green

I really agree with this quote. People constantly use “nerd” or “geek” as a degrading term. Why is it degrading? So what if I’m “overly intellectual”? That doesn’t make me socially impaired. It makes me smart enough to not become an underage alcoholic who does drugs and has sex just because it will make me “cool.” I also don’t smoke because I’m smart enough to know the health risks and that “peer pressure” has nothing to do with it. If that makes me a geek or a nerd, that’s just fine with me.

10) Who are your favorite authors on Goodreads?

 You know, I’m actually not sure. HA! I don’t really use this feature much. Let me check and see…

It looks like at the moment I’ve only liked 2 people on Goodreads… I should use this feature more.

I have currently “followed” ALEXANDRA BRACKEN and MARKUS ZUSAK.

11) What groups do you participate in?

I am currently a part of the 2014 Reading Challenge Group, and the Little Book Club, which is affiliated with LittleBookOwl of YouTube.

12) What could Goodreads do better?

I don’t like the star-rating system. I think half-stars or even just a completely different form of rating would be good. I also don’t really like the fact that you can’t “delete” some of the shelves. I don’t think it’s necessary to have a set of “standard” shelves for everyone. I think you should be allowed to create your own. Also, friend limits. They need to go. It’s not fair that I can’t be friends with all the YouTubers that I love… I also really don’t like notifications. They shouldn’t update you on things that don’t have anything to do with you. The search bar. Why can’t they have “Did you mean…?” Is it that difficult when I accidently type “Where seh went” to figure out what I meant without making me retype the whole thing??

THAT’S IT! 😀

I’m going to tag SpectacleAglow and anyone else who has a Goodreads!

~ PhantomhiveSky

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

