Tag #3: The Harry Potter Spells Tag

Enjoy!

I was not tagged by anyone, but this looked fun so I thought I’d do it anyway. I first saw this done here by Jessethereader of YouTube.

 

1) Expecto Patronum: a childhood book connected to good memories.

HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCERER’S STONE by JK Rowling

This series is what really got me interested in reading. I know that’s common these days for people to say that “Harry Potter was my childhood!” but that does not make it any less true for me. I grew up reading HARRY POTTER, and the first book that started it all is close to my heart.

 

2) Expelliarmus: a book that took you by surprise.

WE WERE LIARS by E. Lockhart

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this book when I picked it up, because the description on the inside flap was very vague and I had heard so much hype about it. I can’t say I was disappointed. I greatly underestimated what a profound effect this book had on me. I was so wonderfully surprised by the beauty of the writing, and made me want to pick up the rest of E. Lockhart’s books. You can read my full review of this book here.

 

3) Prior Incantanto: the last book you read.

SON by Lois Lowry

This is the fourth book in the GIVER QUARTET, and I was quite content with the way Lowry wrapped up the series. She left very little loose ends and I was very happy with the way the whole series connected, despite every book introducing a new main character. You can read my full review of this book here.

 

4) Alohomora: a book that introduced you to a genre you had not considered before.

THE LUXE by Anna Godberson

The genre this book introduced me to is historical fiction. Before I read this book, I stuck to ya, fantasy, and some contemporary, so when I picked up this book, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. I read it a number of years ago and, while I enjoyed it, never managed to get around to the rest of the series, so I’m hoping to reread this series soon.

 

5) Riddikulus: a funny book that you’ve read.

FANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell

This book had me crying with laughter at some points, if only because the situations the characters were in were so relatable and so perfectly written. I would read the part allowed to my parents and say, “isn’t that exactly what I would do in this situation???” while trying to hold back hiccupping laughter.

 

6) Sonorus: a book you think everyone should know about.

AN OBJECT OF BEAUTY by Steve Martin

I feel like people need to know about this book because Steve Martin tends to be labeled very quickly as “the comedian,” despite him being much more than that. He is a very accomplished musician, writer, and an overall amazing human being. I think everyone should be aware of this incredibly intellectual and beautiful side of a comedic actor.

 

7) Obliviate: a book or spoiler you would like to forget having read.

ALLEGIANT by Veronica Roth

For two reasons. One, the big spoiler. I was spoiled for it. Before I even owned the book. Isn’t that lovely? Also, the overall book just wasn’t good to me. Sorry if you liked it, but I couldn’t stand the dual point of view. I could never tell whose perspective I was reading from.

 

8) Imperio: a book you had to read for school

CYRANO DE BERGERAC by Edmund Rostand (translated by Anthony Burgess)

Technically, this is a play. But I have to say that, behind PRIDE AND PREJUDICE, this is my favorite classic I have ever read. I loved all of the characters, and the writing was superb. Cyrano was such and intellectual character and his wit was both astoundingly funny and heartbreakingly poetic.

 

9) Crucio: a book that was painful to read.

WINTERGIRLS by Laurie Halse Anderson

This book was really good, but the topics it covers were difficult to read about, and watching the main character suffer was very difficult. I cannot imagine what it would feel like to live with her guilt while fighting her own battles.

 

10) Avada Kedavra: a book that could kill (interpret as you will)

THE DARKEST MINDS by Alexandra Bracken

I’m not going to go into this, but if you want to know why it could kill, go read it yourself. You’ll see. You’ll see.

 

I’m going to tag Spectacle Aglow, Jenspenden, and AlyshaKaye. Have fun!

 

~ PhantomhiveSky

 

Leave a Reply

