Posted in book review, bookblog, bookblogger

Book Review #13: Son by Lois Lowry

Enjoy! 😀

SON is the 4th book in the Giver Quartet, so to avoid spoilers, I’m not going to go into the plot at all.

Overall, I enjoyed SON, and I thought it was a good ending to a wonderful series. While I can’t say it was my favorite book in the series, I really liked Claire and her story. My biggest problem with the book was the “final battle” scene. It was built up to seem like this harrowing event, but then the actual “battle” was very anticlimactic, and a little creepy. I also wish that we’d gotten an epilogue, to see a little bit farther into the lives of the characters.

Another problem that I had was the time. I couldn’t always tell how much time had passed, and I don’t feel like it was clarified well enough in the book how much time had passed after certain events.

I think that’s all I’m going to say without spoilers. So, go read the GIVER QUARTET, if you want to find out my feelings.

I gave SON by Lois Lowry 4 out of 5 stars.


THE NEXT SECTION OF THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO BE SPOILED FOR ANY EVENTS THAT OCCUR IN SON, PLEASE STOP READING NOW.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I really liked how all of the characters that we have met over the course of the series were connected in some way. I’m also really happy that we got to see Leader (yes, he is Jonas!) and Kira married with children of their own, though I was very sad to learn that Christopher and Matty had both passed away.

I really liked Einar, which was mostly why I wanted an epilogue. I wanted to see if Claire ever goes back to Einar with Gabriel, but I suppose it would have been too difficult, with Claire being afraid of the water, and the wall being to perilous to descend.

I can’t believe how long it took me to remember that Gabe was Jonas’ little brother, and that his father was the nice man that Claire would speak to in the nursery. I felt so stupid when I finally figured it out. Initially I thought that Jonas might be her son, but then, when the man said he took the baby home with him to his dwelling, I remembered baby Gabe.

As I said, I didn’t really like the “final battle” between Gabe and the Trademaster. I don’t feel like it was even a battle, and it was very anticlimactic compared to what they had built it up to be, as Gabe’s most difficult task. All he had to do was talk. Even though he had to enter the Trademaster to understand how to beat him, it wasn’t nearly as hard as what Matty, or even Jonas had to do.

~ PhantomhiveSky

 

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “Book Review #13: Son by Lois Lowry

Leave a Reply

