2014 July Wrap-up and August TBR

Enjoy! 😀

I had a great reading month this month. It was by far my best month this year, though I have to admit I am still dismally behind on my reading challenge.

Total books read this month: 20

Total books read this year: 42

Reading challenge: 15 books behind schedule

Overall, I really enjoyed all of the books I read this month, and I’m quite proud of myself for getting through so many books.

 

1) PLEASE IGNORE VERA DIETZ by AS King

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this book. I became very attached to some of the characters, and the plot was gripping and kept me reading. If you’d like me to do a review of this book, leave a comment below! 🙂

 

2) EVERY DAY by David Levithan (EVERY DAY #1)

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

While I felt the “world-building” of this book could have been done a little better, I really enjoyed the premise of this book and was fascinated by A’s story. If you’d like me to do a review of this book, leave a comment below! 🙂

 

3) SIX DAYS EARLIER (EVERY DAY #0.5)

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This novella allows you to see six days of A’s life before he meets Rhiannon. It was very interesting to see how a younger version of A handled his situation. If you’d like me to do a review of this novella, leave a comment below! 🙂

 

4) AN ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES by John Green

Final Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

While I still really enjoyed John Green’s writing style, as I always do, I never really got attached to any of the characters, and at times, the plot  really confused me. I lost track of who was who in the rush of the story. If you’d like me to do a review of this book, leave a comment below! 🙂

 

5) FANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It didn’t take me long to get into this book. This book is definitely the most relatable book I’ve ever read. It had me crying with laughter the whole way through, if only because I related so much to Cath. If you’d like me to do a review of this book, leave a comment below! 🙂

 

6) THE 5TH WAVE by Rick Yancey (THE 5TH WAVE #1)

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I loved this book so much. I’ve never really been one for the alien apocalypse, but I have to say I was very impressed by Yancey’s idea of how that would go down. You can read my full review of this book here

 

 

Final Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 

 

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 

 

13) LEGEND by Marie Lu (LEGEND #1)

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I loved this book. I have to say that this is probably my favorite trilogy I’ve ever read. You can read my full review here

 

14) PRODIGY by Marie Lu (LEGEND #2)

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This book is definitely my favorite of the trilogy. I absolutely loved it. You can read my full review of this book here

 

15) CHAMPION by Marie Lu (LEGEND #3)

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My least favorite book in the series. I just felt that there was too much to say and not enough pages. You can read my full review of this book here

 

16) LIFE BEFORE LEGEND by Marie Lu (LEGEND #0.5)

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Click above for a link to my review.

 

17) THE FACE ON THE MILK CARTON by Caroline B. Cooney (JANIE JOHNSON #1)

Final Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was really interested in the premise of this book, but I thought it was executed poorly. It could have been made much more complicated and interesting, but I was left at a “surface-level.” You can read my full review of this book here

 

18) KIRA-KIRA by Cynthia Kadohata

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I read this book as a child, and revisiting it was like immersing myself in nostalgia. It was also a good book to go back and read now that I’m old enough to understand a lot of the content better. You can read my full review of this book here

 

19) WE WERE LIARS by E. Lockhart

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I would consider this one of the best books I have ever read. It was so good. I can’t tell you anything, though, because that would ruin it. You really have to go into this book not knowing anything about it. Read my full review here

 

20) SON by Lois Lowry (GIVER QUARTET #4)

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

While I felt that this book was a bit anticlimactic, I still really enjoyed it, and thought it was a good way to wrap up the series. You can read my full review of this book here

 

Those are all the books I read this month! 😀 As this is the first time I’ve done a wrap-up/tbr blog, I think I should explain how I’m going to do this. As you can see, I’ve just listed out all of the books that I read this month, with their rating and some thoughts about them. Each month, I’m going to pick one book that I read that month to recommend to you all. This book will be my “favorite book of the month” and it is the book that, if I could only pick one, I would recommend to you first.

 

Book of the Month – WE WERE LIARS by E. Lockhart

 

 

 

 

IT’S KIND OF A FUNNY STORY by Ned Vizzini

A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS by Khaled Hosseini

NEVER FADE by Alexandra Bracken

EMMA by Jane Austen (currently reading)

 

What books did you read this month? Did you enjoy them? Comment below! 😀

~ PhantomhiveSky

Leave a Reply

