Book Review #12: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Enjoy! ūüėÄ

A beautiful and distinguished family.

A private island.

A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.

A group of four friends – the Liars – whose friendship turns destructive.

A revolution. An accident. A secret.

Lies upon lies.

True love.

The truth.

 

This book, was so good! The writing was absolutely beautiful, and so unique. E. Lockhart’s metaphors are so powerful and real. The way emotions are personified is so believable that the first time it happened, it had me believing that it was an actual plot point, before the main character confirmed the metaphor.

I’m not going to go into detail about this book because I feel like you HAVE to go into it not knowing anything about it or what’s going to happen. You really can’t expect anything from this book if you want to get the full effect of all of the minor details and subtleties that are meticulously hidden within the plot.

I will say, the main point of this book is the themes. You don’t really get super attached to any of the characters, because the overall point of the book is to absorb the meanings and the metaphors and the themes, and to focus on the way the main character views the people around her. So, don’t expect to get super emotionally involved with any particular character. Be prepared to be sucked into the glorious writing and plot.

I gave WE WERE LIARS by E. Lockhart 5 out of 5 stars.

 


THE NEXT PART OF THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO BE SPOILED FOR ANY EVENTS THAT OCCUR IN WE WERE LIARS PLEASE STOP READING NOW.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ok, so there are a few things I want to touch on.

Firstly, ghosts or hallucinations?

I’m honestly not sure. I really like the fact that E. left this open for the reader to determine for themselves. I watched the liveshow discussion¬†on YouTube with Jessethereader, polandbananasBOOKS, ArielBissett, and Katytastic¬†(which¬†you can also watch HERE), and I really like the insight that they had on this discussion. While I personally side with Ariel, who believes that they are hallucinations, I really like the idea of them being ghosts (particularly after them talking about it being hard to stay, and their goodbye scene).

As far as Gat, Mirren, and Johnny dying, I basically thought it was their own fault. While I completely agree with their “big grand statement” their execution of it was just absolutely terrible. They are kids, yes, but, seriously. DON’T LIGHT A HOUSE ON FIRE WHEN YOU ARE INSIDE! ugh. Anyway. That was just a very illogical way to make a statement. And it backfired.

As far as the family in general. I’m surprised at how much I related to some of the situations, particularly Gat’s situation with the granddad. My family isn’t racist, but the older generations do have similar mentalities to the granddad, and I know how hard that can be on the younger generations, who are more open-minded, and more relaxed about people’s ideas and beliefs.

Also, the dogs dying… That was horrible. Why didn’t anyone think of the dogs? Why are animal deaths so much more tragic than human deaths??

~ PhantomhiveSky

7 thoughts on “Book Review #12: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

  1. I just finished reading this book earlier this week. I enjoyed it. I guessed the plot twist early on, but it still shook me at the end and I *may* have shed a tear or two…sniff, sniff. I also could relate to the family drama. That part hit home pretty hard for me.

    Great review!

      • Well, I was thrown off when Cady showed up at the island and the Liars were there waiting for her (I was like, “Uh, no. They’re dead. It’s the thing she’s blocking out!”). So, I was pretty much confused too until the end. Then I was like, “Ah-ha! I knew it!” :-p

        Oh, books. They do toy with my mind! lol

      • Hahaha. Yeah. I thought Gat might be dead, because he wasn’t there to greet her, but then he saw her later, and I was like, “wait, then what happened if he’s alive???” I can definitely say this was the most confusing book I’ve ever read, hahaha.

Leave a Reply

