Posted in bookblog, bookblogger

Favorite Authors

So on my bookshelf I have a shelf for my favorite authors. Today I thought I’d share which authors have stolen my heart and made their way on to my Favorite Authors shelf, and which books they have written to win my love for their writing.

These are in no particular order. {DISCLAIMER: Most of the books on this shelf are stand-alones, so authors who have written some of my favorite series (aka JK Rowling/Cassandra Clare) are not included in this blog}

IF YOU’D LIKE ME TO DO AN OFFICIAL REVIEW OF ANY OF THE BOOKS MENTIONED IN THIS BLOG, PLEASE COMMENT BELOW!

#1 – Markus Zusak

Books I have by this author:

THE BOOK THIEF (collector’s edition)

This one book was enough to earn Markus Zusak a place on my favorite authors. I can safely say that THE BOOK THIEF is my favorite stand-alone I have ever read. I would really like to pick up Markus Zusak’s other novel I AM THE MESSENGER. Zusak has written a series (THE WOLFE BROTHERS) but I’m not sure if it’s something I would enjoy. If I picked it up, it would be because Zusak was the author.

 

#2 – Laurie Halse Anderson

Books that I have by this author:

WINTERGIRLS

THE IMPOSSIBLE KNIFE OF MEMORY

FIGHT FOR LIFE (VET VOLUNTEERS #1)

HOMELESS (VET VOLUNTEERS #2)

While the Vet Volunteers books were not my favorite, as I am a little old for children’s chapter books, (you can read my review here) I really really enjoy Laurie Halse Anderson’s young adult books, as they deal with real issues, and handle them with beautiful writing and wonderful character development.

 

#3 – Jay Asher

Books that I have by this author:

13 REASONS WHY

This book was so interesting to read, as the overall premise was something I’d never heard of before. It is one of my favorite contemporaries, competing with John Green for who is more awesome. Speaking of which…

 

#4 – John Green

Books I have by this author:

THE FAULT IN OUR STARS

PAPER TOWNS

LOOKING FOR ALASKA

AN ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES

WILL GRAYSON, WILL GRAYSON (co-written with David Levithan)

LET IT SNOW (co-written with Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle)

I know it’s not technically a John Green book, but included with his books is THIS STAR WON’T GO OUT by Esther, Wayne, and Lori Earl (John Green did the introduction.) The reason I’ve included this is because I never would have picked this book up if I didn’t know about John Green and his relationship with this wonderful girl, who is an inspiration to us all.

Anyway, John Green stole my heart when I first read THE FAULT IN OUR STARS at the recommendation of SpectacleAglow. I cannot say how grateful I am that she introduced me to this wonderful, wonderful author. I have loved all of his books and videos and his nerdiness makes me so happy. I can’t wait for him to publish more books so I can just keep on reading.

 

#5 – Jennifer E. Smith

Books I have by this author:

THIS IS WHAT HAPPY LOOKS LIKE

THE STATISTICAL PROBABILITY OF LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT

These books may be a little bit corny/cheesy, but they are just so heartwarming and cute and they make you feel all fuzzy inside. These would be great books to make into movies. I had such a good time reading, particularly since I read THE STATISTICAL PROBABILITY OF LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT while waiting for a flight in an airport.

 

#6 – Rainbow Rowell

Books I have by this author:

FANGIRL

I LOVED this book, so much. I am so happy that I picked it up, and I am so excited that she now has 3 more books that I can go pick up and fly through, just like I did with this book. FANGIRL is definitely the most relatable book I have ever read.

 

#7 – David Levithan

Books that I own by this author:

EVERY DAY

WILL GRAYSON, WILL GRAYSON (co-written with David Levithan)

David Levithan’s writing is so versatile and interesting, and I really want to pick up some more books by him so I can keep experiencing his witty and emotional writing.

 

#8  – Jean Plaidy

Books that I own by this author:

VICTORIA VICTORIOUS

MURDER MOST ROYAL

These books are sort of historical fiction. They are the stories of English monarchs such as Queen Victoria, Queen Anne Boleyn, and Queen Catherine Howard. However, they are written from the perspective of each of these queens, and this provides a very interesting perspective on the lives of English monarchs.

 

#9 – Nicholas Sparks (yeah, don’t judge)

Books I have by this author:

THE LUCKY ONE

A WALK TO REMEMBER

THE WEDDING

NIGHTS IN RODANTHE

THE GUARDIAN

THE RESCUE

TRUE BELIEVER

AT FIRST SIGHT

(I have read more, but these are the ones I own; again, don’t judge)

I really like Nicholas Sparks’ stories, they are quite fun and yes, sappy, but I love them all the same. I find myself growing very attached to most of the characters, and rooting for the love interests with all my heart.

 

#10 – Khaled Hosseini

Books I have by this author:

THE KITE RUNNER

A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS

I haven’t read A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS, but I have read THE KITE RUNNER, and that was the most emotional book I have ever read. I read this book in one sitting, and it literally ripped me apart. Literally.

 

#11 – Alice Sebold

Books I have by this author:

THE LOVELY BONES

I know she’s published another book, but I can’t think of what it’s called at the moment… THE LOVELY BONES was so emotional and so wonderfully written. It really got the perspective of all of the characters perfectly, making you attached to them and making you invested in all of their stories.

 

#12 – Arthur Golden

Books I have by this author:

MEMOIRS OF A GEISHA

I absolutely love Arthur Goldnen’s writing, it’s beautiful and poetic and emotional, and his characters are so interesting and multi-faceted. I really wish he had written more than one book so I could just submerse myself in his writing.

 

#13 – Steve Martin

Books I have by this author:

AN OBJECT OF BEAUTY

 

Steve Martin

Yes, this is the Steve Martin you are thinking of. This incredibly comedic man wrote a book about art. And it is WONDERFUL. It’s intellectual, beautifully written, and I cannot believe how smart and incredible his writing is. You just need to read this book. DO IT NOW.

 Last but not least…

#14 – Rick Yancey

Books I have by this author:

THE FIFTH WAVE

I have read the first 3 books in the MONSTRUMOLOGIST series, but I don’t own any of them. Rick Yancey is such an incredible author. I just get so attached to his characters, particularly in the MONSTRUMOLOGIST series. I really love the way he writes the relationships between his characters, and I really want to buy as many of his books as possible.

 

~ PhantomhiveSky

 

 

 

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

