Posted in book review, bookblog, bookblogger

Book Review #8: Prodigy by Marie Lu

So, before I get into this review, I just wanted to ask a quick question. If I were to post a “bookshelf tour” blog, would anyone be interested? I would probably post a TBR bookshelf tour, so if you see any books on my TBR shelf that you would like me to read and review, you could ask me and I would take your requests. Let me know in the comments below if you would be interested!

Enjoy! ūüėÄ

THE FEELS. Ok, so I’m gonna say this right off the bat. Everyone needs to go read this series, NOW. It’s so good, it’s not even funny. I can’t even describe how much I am loving this trilogy. AND IT’S A DEBUT! LEGEND was Marie Lu’s first novel! How is that even possible? I have to say, I actually enjoyed PRODIGY more than LEGEND. This is a trend I’ve noticed with trilogies. The first book is good, the second book is great… Then the third book is kind of bad. I’m really hoping CHAMPION does not follow that pattern.

Ok, so to avoid spoilers, I am not going to go into the plot.

But, gah! SO GOOD. Everything about this book was exactly what I wanted it to be. The characters were just as amazing as they were in the first book, though I wasn’t as much of a fan of Tess in PRODIGY. However, I feel like where I lost my affection for Tess, I gained it towards Kaede. She really grew on me in this book, even though I didn’t like her all that much in LEGEND. I feel like she started to show her true colors a little more in PRODIGY, and I grew quite attached to her over the course of this book.

As far as the plot goes, I really enjoyed it. I felt that everything was very believable, and I liked that fact that I never knew who was trustworthy until the very end of the book. I was left guessing if Day and June were trusting the right people and making the right decisions, which is a really good way to keep the reader interested: keep them guessing.

I am so excited to be continuing on with this series and finishing it up with CHAMPION, the third and final installment in the trilogy.

I gave PRODIGY by Marie Lu 5 out of 5 stars.


THE NEXT PART OF THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO BE SPOILED FOR ANY PART OF PRODIGY, PLEASE STOP READING NOW.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

OK. More death. Though not quite as much as in the first book, I don’t think.

Kaede died. This upset me SO MUCH. Just when I was starting to really like her as a character, Lu goes and kills her off. That’s¬†just plain unfair!

Tess was also really annoying in this book. I really liked her in LEGEND, but in PRODIGY, her outright jealousy was, although justified, super¬†irritating.¬†I think she’s a little too young for¬†Day, even though it’s only a two-year age difference between them. She just doesn’t have the right maturity to be a good fit for him. At the¬†same time, I completely understand why¬†she’s so jealous. She’s right – June is responsible for¬†the death of his mother, though I don’t think she’s responsible for John’s death.¬†Tess has done nothing but keep¬†Day alive. She has helped him through some of the worst times in his life, and she deserves some credit. I just don’t think that Day could ever be romantically interested in her.¬†She’s more of a sister, and I’m fine with that.

One thing that I didn’t really like about PRODIGY was the communication between¬†June and Day. They are just SO BAD at holding a normal conversation. At the same time, though, I think that’s what makes their relationship so endearing. They can’t be around each other without falling apart and forgetting all of the English language. However, this ends up hurting both of them in the long run because they can’t express their feelings properly, so they end up being more hurtful¬†than helpful. I felt so bad for Day when he gave June the paper¬†clip ring, and she just couldn’t figure out a way to tell him that she liked it, and he ended up being ashamed that he’d given her such a “cheap”¬†gift. What really made it worse is that she actually DID appreciate it, but just couldn’t figure out a way to tell him. USE¬†YOUR WORDS JUNE!

I¬†was so happy that Eden was still alive, and that Anden kept his promise about letting him go. If Eden had died,¬†I think it¬†would have killed¬†Day. He’s already lost so much, but his little brother has always been¬†his beacon of hope, similarly to how Prim was Katniss’ beacon of hope in THE HUNGER GAMES. The¬†fact that he was reunited with Eden just made my¬†life. It made me so happy to see them together again.

Moving on to Anden. ¬†I was never really sure if Anden could be trusted, but I really wanted everything he said to be true. I really like Anden… And I kind of think he and June could be a thing… Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE June and Day. But I also really, really like Anden. He’s so kind, and sweet and genuine, and he really has everyone’s best interests at heart. I really think that Anden wants to be a good ruler, and will be the best Elector the Republic has ever had. I want that desperately.

Day…. is dying. This I was kind of spoiled for already, but I didn’t expect him to react the way he did. I did not expect him to just walk out on June with NO EXPLANATION. Well, I mean, he kind of explained it, but the explanation was ABSOLUTE CRAP. Why couldn’t he just tell her that he was dying???? It’s not fair to her to just say, “It won’t work out.” You can’t just kiss her, and then walk out of her life. How is that fair?? She would never allow you to do this if you just told her that you were sick. She wouldn’t care if you were sick or not! She loves you! Just because she never says it doesn’t mean it’s not true!

I have to go read CHAMPION now. I have to find out how all of this plays out. Will they find some kind of cure for Day? Will Anden succeed as Elector?

~ PhantomhiveSky

 

 

 

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

One thought on “Book Review #8: Prodigy by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

