Book Review #7: Legend by Marie Lu

Enjoy!

Wow. This book, man… Where to start?

I have heard really good things about this book from everyone who has read it, so when I picked up the box set a couple months ago, I was really excited to jump right in. However, other books got read first, and I ended up not picking up LEGEND until last night. I regret waiting this long to read it so much. It was absolutely incredible. I read about 100 pages of it last night, and then woke up this morning and finished it in one sitting. I haven’t started the sequel, PRODIGY, yet, but it’s sitting next to me as I type, begging me to start it.

I enjoyed everything about this book. The characters were wonderful, the world building was believable and detailed, the plot was intriguing and original, and the overall pace of the book was great.

June, Day, Tess, Metias, Thomas, and everyone else whom we come across as we fly through the pages of LEGEND each have their own individual personalities, and we can tell immediately if these characters are to be trusted or not. At the same time, Marie Lu manages to surprise us with betrayal and heartbreak. My favorite character was probably Day, because he is the most layered and mysterious character we encounter.

I really enjoyed the fact that this story is told from two different perspective. I feel like Marie Lu did a great job of passing off the narrative so the plot still flowed smoothly and didn’t cut off abruptly when one narrative ended. I can’t help but compare LEGEND to ALLEGIANT by Veronica Roth, which was also told from multiple perspectives. In contrast to  Four and Tris from ALLEGIANT, June and Day are the narrators in LEGEND, and not once did I forget whose perspective I was reading from, and not just because the font changes color (gold for Day, black for June), but because they each had a distinct voice, their personalities carrying through in their narrative clearly to the reader. That was my biggest problem with ALLEGIANT: I couldn’t tell whose perspective I was reading from. It was a nice change to read a book in two DIFFERENT perspectives.

I can’t wait to start PRODIGY, and then finish up the trilogy with CHAMPION. Where will Marie Lu take June and Day next?

I gave LEGEND by Marie Lu 5 out of 5 stars.


THE NEXT PORTION OF THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO BE SPOILED FOR ANY EVENTS THAT OCCUR IN LEGEND, PLEASE STOP READING NOW.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ok, so. Death. It happened. 3 times. In this book.

Metias. I kind of knew this would happen, but at the same time, I desperately hoped that it wouldn’t. I knew that June needed her brother, and losing him would be devastating. I was also very confused when we found out that he died from the stab wound, because I knew that Day had thrown the knife into his shoulder, and that Day had said “I did not wait for him to get up.” Day knew that his throw wouldn’t kill Metias, and somehow he died anyway. Of course, Thomas killed him. I began to suspect it when Thomas killed Day’s mother (which I’ll get to in a minute). Thomas had always played the “good soldier,” who just followed orders blindly, taking his commanders at their word that it is the right thing to do. I don’t know if he realizes how much he is wrong, but I think his affection for June was real, so maybe he really thought what he did was for her own good.

Day’s mother. This was so uncalled for it’s not even fathomable. When Thomas shot her, I thought I was going to die right along with her. She was so innocent, and she had just gotten her son back. After years of thinking her son was dead, he finally returns to her, only to get her killed while trying as hard as he can to protect them and himself. I think this is also the turning point for June, the first moment when she realizes that she might not be on the side of the good guys. But she’s gone too far to go back. She’s killed his mother now. She has to go through with it. I think that will be the biggest regret of both of their lives.

Finally, John. Why is there always a martyr? Why is there always someone who wants to be the hero? Ugh. John could have survived, but he cared too much. He wouldn’t risk the life of his remaining brother, (who knows if they’ll ever see Eden alive again?) especially after everything Day did for his family. I completely understand why John sacrificed himself, but that doesn’t make it hurt any less.

Please no more death…

~ PhantomhiveSky

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review #7: Legend by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

