Posted in book review, bookblog, bookblogger

Book Review #6: Grimm’s Fairy Tales by Jakob and Wilhelm Grimm

Enjoy! 😀

Stories included in GRIMM’S FAIRY TALES-

The Rabbit’s Bride

Six Soldiers of Fortune

Clever Grethel

Hans In Luck

The Goose Girl

The Frog Prince

Cat and Mouse in Partnership

The Wolf and The Seven Little Goats

Faithful John

Rapunzel

The Three Little Men in the Wood

The Three Spinsters

Hansel and Grethel

The White Snake

The Fisherman and his Wife

The Gallant Tailor

Aschenputtel

Mother Hulda

Little Red Riding Hood

The Bremen Town Musicians

Prudent Hans

Clever Else

Tom Thumb

Tom Thumb’s Travels

The Elves

The Six Swans

The Sleeping Beauty

King Thrushbeard

Snow-White

Rumpelstiltskin

The Golden Bird

The Golden Goose


I really enjoyed reading these little fairy tales. It was fun to go through each one and see how these basic tales are mirrored in books and movies today. It’s fascinating to think that such simple stories can inspire our most popular books and movies today. I also liked seeing some of the stories like Snow White and Sleeping Beauty that have been taken by Disney and changed to be more appropriate for a  younger audience. One story that surprised me was Aschenputtel. It’s Cinderella! I believe Aschenputtel is German, but I’m not positive.

I really liked how almost every story had a moral to it, bringing to my attention that these are meant to be children’s stories, scaring young ones away from wickedness and deceit, and showing them the punishments that come along with such behavior.

My favorite story was probably THE ELVES. It told the story of how a shoemaker who was very poor was helped by elves to live a comfortable life. He didn’t want riches or fame, he just wanted to live a secure life with his wife, and I think that’s a great moral for kids. You don’t have to be rich to be happy. As long as you are doing what you love with the people you love, that’s all you need, and you must always remember to repay kindnesses that are shown to you with more kindness.

I gave GRIMM’S FAIRY TALES by Jakob and Wilhelm Grimm 5 out of 5 stars.

~ PhantomhiveSky

 

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Book Review #6: Grimm’s Fairy Tales by Jakob and Wilhelm Grimm

  1. Have you seen the movie The Brothers Grimm? It’s absolutely fantastic! I haven’t read Grimm’s Fairy Tales yet, so I don’t know if it’s a good adaptation or not…

Leave a Reply

