Posted in book review, bookblog, bookblogger

Book Review #2: The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer (Read July 2014)

Enjoy! 😀

I know, I know. Stephenie Meyer, what am I thinking, reading her books? Eh. I can’t say I wasn’t ever a fan of the Twilight series. When I first read the Twilight series in elementary school, I absolutely loved it. I managed to reread the series a year later, but have not even been able to touch the books since. I had absolutely no interest in ever reading a Twilight book again. However, as I’ve never read THE SHORT SECOND LIFE OF BREE TANNER, I decided it couldn’t hurt. I can’t say I had very high expectations for this book, though I can say that these low expectations were not greatly exceeded.

While the overall plot of the book was decent, I felt that the general hierarchy in Bree’s coven was very confusing. I didn’t really understand how everything worked in the coven, nor did I understand how it was run, or even who was necessarily a part of it. I didn’t feel that we were given enough time to get to know Bree Tanner’s world, and I don’t feel like I was able to see how she fit into this world.

My biggest problem with the novella was the character development. We weren’t given enough information or back story to any of the characters to form a real attachment to them, or to relate to them in any way. I felt no connection to the characters whatsoever, so I never really felt a need to continue on with the book, because I didn’t really care what happened to any of the characters.

Overall, THE SHORT SECOND LIFE OF BREE TANNER was just an “ok” read for me. Because I wasn’t attached to any of the characters, I couldn’t really get into the book the way I wanted to, and I couldn’t immerse myself in the world because I didn’t fully understand or comprehend the world that Bree Tanner lived in.

 

I gave THE SHORT SECOND LIFE OF BREE TANNER by Stephenie Meyer 3 out of 5 stars.

 


THE NEXT PART OF THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO BE SPOILED FOR ANY EVENTS THAT OCCUR IN THE SHORT SECOND LIFE OF BREE TANNER, PLEASE STOP READING NOW

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My favorite character was probably Fred. Even though he wasn’t a huge character, I kind of liked him. He was quiet, and despite never letting anyone in, he decides to take Bree under his wing and protect her with his powers, because he can see that she doesn’t belong in this crowd any more than he does.

I had no qualms about Diego dying, since I felt no real attachment to him. Bree and Diego’s relationship was far too “insta-lovey” for me, and I felt like, were I to be placed in this situation, I wouldn’t even consider Diego a friend yet, much less a romantic interest.

I also didn’t understand the necessity of Raoul. He just was this annoying character who happened to be there. He served no purpose throughout the entire novella. He was just there to be brawny and annoying.

Riley was very strange. We never really get a good sense of his intentions or who he really is. He is far too caught up in his own interests to care about the rest of his “army” and I still am not sure if he spoke one word of truth throughout the whole novella. I am truly surprised that he hadn’t been killed by someone in his coven yet, and that he managed to get way with the sunlight lie for so long.

Once again, Stephenie Meyer does not fail to disappoint. :/ I guess I’m not really surprised. What disappoints me so much is that I can see the potential in this novella, but it just wasn’t executed well enough. It felt too rushed and far too vague.

~ PhantomhiveSky

Author:

Hello! I am a college student, double majoring in English Literature and Publishing/Editing. I love reading, watching Netflix, and relaxing with my cat. I also love music, particularly film scores, and I have played French horn for 6 years. You can follow/contact me at these places: Goodreads - AnnaleeSky Instagram - @skysreadingcorner Email - bookcat348@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

