Top 7 Books of 2014 So Far

So, the year is about half over, and unfortunately I am at a shamefully behind 27 books for this year. My overall goal for this year was 100 books, so according to goodreads, I happen to be 26 books behind schedule 😦 but, alas, what can be done? Since the year is half over, I thought I’d share my mid-year favorites, so I will be picking seven books that I have read this year to share and recommend to you 😀 enjoy! PS these are in no particular order

1) THE IMPOSSIBLE KNIFE OF MEMORY by Laurie Halse Anderson

This book was gripping and I really related to the main character, despite having very little in common with her. I sympathized with her situation and throughout the book felt her struggles in a very personal way. I would not recommend this to anyone who is looking for a light-hearted read.

2) THIS STAR WONT GO OUT by Esther Earl

John Green introduced me to Esther Earl’s This Star Won’t Go Out, and saying that I was captivated is an understatement. The amount of good that Esther Earl did in her life is beyond her years, and the world is so grateful to have experienced the awesome that is the most wonderous nerdfighter Esther Earl.

3) FANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell

The most relatable book I have ever read. Cath was the most amazing character because she wasn’t the popular girl who went to parties every weekend and got drunk and slept with every guy in sight. What made Cath so amazing was that wasn’t what she wanted, either. She was perfectly content to spend her entire weekend typing away on her computer and creating her fanfiction, much as I spend my days writing this blog and reading my books. Definitely a book for nerds or geeks like me 😀

4) THE KITE RUNNER by Khaled Hosseini

I had heard about the Kite Runner when I was very young, never really understanding what it was about, so when I picked it up, the genre of the book surprised me. I absolutely loved how real it felt, and how true it stayed to the history of the Middle East. All of the characters were very believable and interesting, and I became very attached to all of them.

5) PAPER TOWNS by John Green

I was introduced to John Green by Spectacle Aglow, and if I recall correctly, this is her favorite John Green book, perhaps apart from The Fault in Our Stars. Her heavy recommendation to this book deterred me slightly, because I didn’t want to hype it up and be disappointed by a high expectation, but it did not disappoint. I really fell in love with all of the characters and felt their conflicts as my own. Margo in particular was one of the most fascinating characters I have ever come across, and I am very happy that I did not put this book off for too long.

6) CITY OF HEVEANLY FIRE by Cassandra Clare

This book was the perfect ending to one of my favorite series. All of the characters had their own ending, and I am so happy with the resolution. Of course, to avoid spoilers, I will leave it at that.

7) STOLEN by Lucy Christopher

Stolen was one of the most insightful and interesting fiction novels I have ever read. Giving an incredibly interesting view of Stockholm Syndrome, it grips you from start to finish as you experience the mixed emotions of our main character, who fights against her hate and love for her captor.

 

These are the top 7 books I have read this year. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading these, and some were even read in one sitting! I am so happy that I am able to share these books with you and hope you pick them up and enjoy them as well!

~ PhantomhiveSky

Leave a Reply

