Book Haul #1: Vacation Thrift Shopping

Hello!

Every book in this book haul was bought at a used book store in the Monterey Bay area. 😀 Enjoy!

THE SHORT SECOND LIFE OF BREE TANNER by Stephenie Meyer

Yes, I know. Stephenie Meyer, the dreaded creator of Twilight. I usually have similar feelings about this particular series. But, when I saw this book priced at nearly half the normal retail price, I figured, it can’t hurt right? This particular Meyer story is much small than the Twilight novels, so, if I am particularly opposed to it while reading, I will not have to suffer long.

 

THE DA VINCI CODE by Dan Brown

I heard of this book first when the movie came out a few years ago, I was judged too young at the time to read the book or see the movie, so I kind of forgot about it for a few years. Then, I saw it in the thrift shore, and my original feelings of intrigue resurfaced. At $2 for a hardcover, how could I resist?

 

THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA by CS Lewis

This is a paperback bind-up of all seven of these classic children’s novels. I read the first four Narnia books back in elementary school, but then for some reason I just couldn’t get in to Dawn Treader, and gave up on the series. With this almost brand-new paperback copy, I hope to re-try this series and finish it.

 

JANE EYRE by Charlotte Bronte

I read this book in fourth grade for the wonderful Accelerated Reader program that some of us were lucky enough to have (no, this is not sarcasm!). I had somehow managed to get marginally behind on my reading points for one particular trimester, so I picked it up as it was worth about 50 points if I finished it and got an A on the online quiz. I read this on a four hour flight back home from Atlanta, where I had been visiting family, and I DEVOURED it. I absolutely LOVED this book, so I’m thrilled to have my own copy.

 

KIRA KIRA by Cynthia Kadohata

I also read this book in elementary school, so when I saw it on the shelf in a thrift store, massive waves of nostalgia washed over me as I remembered how much I loved this book when I read it so many years ago. I would love to reread this at some point, since I don’t remember much of it.

 

HOPE YOU ENJOYED MY FIRST EVER BOOK HAUL!

~ PhantomhiveSky

 

Leave a Reply

