Tag #1: The Chocolate Book Tag

THERE ARE NO SPOILERS IN THIS TAG 😀 ENJOY

1) Dark Chocolate – A book that covers a dark topic.

STOLEN by Lucy Christopher

Stolen is a book about a girl named Gemma who is stolen  in an airport in Bangkok, where she is waiting for her flight with her parents, by Ty, a mysteriously familiar face amidst the crowd of half-awake travelers. While in Ty’s captivity, Gemma’s internal fight over how she should feel about him, and how she actually feels about him, gives a very interesting insight into the psychology of Stockholm Syndrome, and how it affects those who fall to it. A very good read for anyone interested in psychological thrillers or YA thrillers.

 

2) White Chocolate – Your favorite lighthearted/humorous read.

FANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell

This just happens to be the most recent read on my shelves. However, I can tell that I will be rereading this into eternity as it is the most relatable book I have ever read. It had me laughing out loud as I continuously drew parallels between the main character’s introverted personality with my own inner fangirl. This book made me feel like I am not alone in my anti-social habits, and I’m very grateful that my often odd behavior is now justified by someone I will probably never meet. So, THANK YOU, Rainbow Rowell. Thank you.

 

3) Milk Chocolate – A book that has a lot of hype that you are dying to read.

A GAME OF THRONES by George RR Martin

I just recently picked up the 5-book box set of A Song of Ice and Fire, and words cannot express how excited I am to read this series and then watch it on TV. I have heard so many good things about this series, and plus, PETER DINKLAGE EVERYBODY. PETER DINKLAGE. My favorite person ever.

 

4) Chocolate with a Caramel Center – A book that makes you feel all gooey in the middle while you are reading it.

THE STATISTICAL PROBABILITY OF LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT by Jennifer E. Smith

Ironically, I read the entirety of this book in an airport. So what if it’s a sappy love story? It’s adorable, and that’s all that matters to me. I loved how the relationship between the characters wasn’t just an on-the-surface Disney movie romance. It went deeper than that, both characters supporting each other through some tough situations and proving that love at first sight really is possible, if given the opportunity to develop into something more.

 

5) Wafer-free Kit Kat – A book that has surprised you lately.

AN ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES by John Green

I have been a John Green fan since day one of discovering the magic within the beautiful blue cover of The Fault in Our Stars. An Abundance of Katherines happened to be the last book of John Green’s that I read, and I was a little disappointed. While the writing style and wit of all the characters matched John Green’s previous books, making me laugh and appreciate the genius that is John Green, the overall plot did not. I really enjoyed the idea of the main character dating 19 girls named Katherine, but I felt the overall execution just wasn’t good enough to be a John Green novel.

 

6) Snickers – A book you are going nuts about.

CITY OF HEAVENLY FIRE by Cassandra Clare

This book was everything I wanted it to be and more. It was a beautiful end to the Mortal Instruments series and left me wanting for nothing. Normally books that end a series are the worst in their series, but with COHF, I have to admit that in my opinion, it was the best book in the series, and possibly the best book Cassandra Clare has published to date, maybe with the exception of Clockwork Princess, the final book in the Infernal Devices trilogy. I can’t wait for Cassandra Clare’s new series, The Dark Artifices, as I believe it will follow some of the characters that are introduced in COHF, and will allow me to live in the Shadowhunter world for a little while longer.

 

7) Hot Chocolate with Cream and Marshmallows – A book that you would turn to for a comfort read.

HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCERER’S STONE – by JK Rowling

This book was my gateway drug into the magical world of books. Just looking at it brings on waves of nostalgia from my childhood of pretending to be Hermione Granger and giving myself “magical” homework assignments from my Hogwarts courses. I was so lucky to grow up with Harry Potter and the Golden Trio, and am so grateful that I can go back to that world any time and relive the magic.

 

8) Box of Chocolates – A series that you have read that you feel has a wide variety and something for everyone.

SONG OF THE LIONESS by Tamora Pierce

This series is a middle-grade/YA quartet that has a mix of a few genres that are most common. Exploring a magical world with romance, fantasy, coming-of-age, feminism, animals, and family relationships, everyone can get something out of this series. I read this series when I was 11 or 12, and fell in love almost instantly. Also, because it is only four books which are 3 or 4 hundred pages long, they are pretty easy to get through quickly.

 

I TAG http://spectacleaglow.wordpress.com/ Spectacle Aglow 😀 have fun

One thought on “Tag #1: The Chocolate Book Tag

Leave a Reply

